Australia A v India A

Aus A claim series after washout

Play abandoned without a ball being bowled on day four as match ends in a draw

Adam Burnett at AB Field, Brisbane

18 September 2016, 12:31 PM AEST

Persistent rain ended the second first-class fixture between Australia A and India A at Brisbane's Allan Border Field in this winter series without a ball being bowled on day four.

Day three highlights

The drawn outcome means Australia A take the honours in the series, having earned a three-wicket win last week at the same venue. 

Quick Single: Young allrounders take big strides in Brisbane

Joe Burns' Australians were well placed to make it two-nil heading into the fourth and final day, needing six wickets to win the match, while India A still required another 109 runs to make the hosts bat again. 

WA allrounder Hilton Cartwright was adjudged player of the match for his excellent 117 in Australia's total of 435, while Kane Richardson (4-37), Nic Maddinson (81), Beau Webster (79), Sam Whiteman (51) and Jon Holland (3-59) all made impressive contributions for the home side. 

Quick Single: Holland main man after drop

Fast bowler Hardik Pandya made 79 on day one to prop up the tourists in their disappointing total of 169, while the impressive Shardul Thakur claimed 5-101 and Akhil Herwadkar saved his best knock of the series for last, finishing unbeaten on 82 in India's second innings of 4-158.

Meg Lanning Steve Smith