Domain Tests v India

Celebrations begin for jubilant India

Final day is a total wash-out in Sydney but Virat Kohli's team care little as their historic 2-1 series victory is confirmed

Cricket Network at the SCG

7 January 2019, 11:30 PM AEST

The five best catches from India Tests

Wet weather has helped Australia to escape with a draw at a sodden SCG, where India have made history by completing a 2-1 series victory.

Play was eventually abandoned, without a ball being bowled, at 2:30pm on day five of the fourth Domain Test.

The final inspection proved a low-key end to India's maiden Test series win in Australia, arguably the greatest achievement of Virat Kohli's captaincy.

It was the third consecutive day in Sydney that was affected by either bad light or rain but that didn't stop a loud group of India's fans cheering, dancing, waving flags and singing in the rain for much of the morning session.

Kohli and teammates celebrated by thanking supporters who had stuck around despite the showers.

Australia, asked to follow on after conceding a first innings lead of 322 runs on day four, finished 0-6 in their second innings.

India, having failed to win a Test series in Australia in 11 previous attempts, ended a slump that dates back to when they were crushed by Don Bradman's side in 1948.

The tourists, led by magnificent series from batting rock Cheteshwar Pujara and superb slinger Jasprit Bumrah, achieved it in clinical fashion to expose the immense void left by Steve Smith and David Warner's suspensions and raise questions about the potency of Australia's attack.

Kohli's team banked wins in Adelaide and Melbourne to take an unassailable 2-1 series lead and retain the Border-Gavaskar trophy, while they took control of the final Test by amassing 7(dec)-622 after winning the toss.

"We've been outplayed in some areas," Tim Paine conceded to Fox Cricket prior to the start of play on Monday.

Paine reflects on disappointing series

"It's been a hard-fought series and they deserve to take home the trophy.

"We've got to try and look at the positives."

Australia's misfiring top six hit an unprecedented low, with Marcus Harris' 79 in Sydney the highest score that any of them have managed in this series.

Until Monday, Australia hadn't completed a four-Test series at home without at least one player reaching three figures.

Domain Test Series v India

Dec 6-10: India won by 31 runs

Dec 14-18: Australia won by 146 runs

Dec 26-30: India won by 137 runs

Jan 3-7: Match Drawn

Australia squad: Tim Paine (c, wk), Josh Hazlewood (vc), Mitch Marsh (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk), Parthiv Patel (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Ravi Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar