India triumph in rain-hit first T20

08 October 2017

Kohli leads India to Duckworth-Lewis target of 48 off six overs in rain-affected series opener

India v Australia T20s, First T20


The match in a tweet: Aussie bats stumble again as India take 1-0 lead! Hosts cruise to rain-reduced victory target after spinners shine

The scorecard: India 1-49 off 5.3 overs (Kohli 22 off 14 balls) beat Australia 8-118 off 18.4 (Finch 42 off 30, Kuldeep 2-16, Bumrah 2-17) on the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method by nine wickets.

The collapse: After Aaron Finch (four fours and one six) had powered Australia to 1-49 at the end of the Power Play, their innings stalled badly as India's bowlers struck regular blows. Glenn Maxwell's dismissal in the seventh over - dragging a long hop from Yuzvendra Chahal straight to mid-wicket - started a collapse of 7-59 in 12 overs with Tim Paine (17 from 16 balls) the only batsman between No.4 and No.8 to post double figures. Once again, it was spinners Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav who did most of the damage, the pair taking a combined 3-39 from eight overs to ensure Australia were well short of a competitive target when rain stopped play after 18.4 overs.

Warner gets castled by Bhuvneshwar // BCCI
Warner gets castled by Bhuvneshwar // BCCI

The bunny: Chahal's dismissal of Maxwell continues his remarkable dominance of the Australian on this tour. The leg-spinner has dismissed the right-hander four times in four matches, thrice in the ODIs and once again tonight. All up, Chahal has bowled 17 deliveries to Maxwell, dismissing him four times and conceding 14 runs.

The stat: Six Australian batsman were bowled in Ranchi, the equal-most in T20 international history and the most in an uncompleted innings.

The chase: A long rain delay resulted in a revised victory target of 48 from six overs, which was always going to be hard to defend against India's powerful top order. Nathan Coulter-Nile conceded an early six but bowled Rohit Sharma a short time later, but that just brought Virat Kohli to the crease. And the Indian skipper finished unbeaten on 22 as his side won by nine wickets and with three balls to spare.

Nathan Coulter-Nile clean bowled Rohit Sharma // BCCI
Nathan Coulter-Nile clean bowled Rohit Sharma // BCCI

The shot: India were 1-16 after two overs when AJ Tye was brought into the attack and Kohli ensured the Western Australian was unable to settle. He advanced at the right-armer's first ball and somehow dead batted a lofted drive over mid off and into the rope. Tye conceded 11 from the over and India were cruising.

The moment: After Coulter-Nile had bowled Rohit, Australia missed two tight run out chances that could have decided the match. Glenn Maxwell would have caught a lazy Shikhar Dhawan short had his throw from backward point hit the stumps and a few balls later, Kohli made his ground by a matter of inches after Aaron Finch had hit the woodwork from close range. They were both tight chances, but ones Australia had to take to be any chance. 

The wash-up: India will head to Guwahati on Sunday for Tuesday's second match and Australia, minus injured skipper Steve Smith, will join them with another loss on the board.

We lost our way in the middle order again: Finch

Australia XI: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Dan Christian, Tim Paine (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff

India XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah 

Australia's Qantas Tour of India

Australia squad: David Warner (c), Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Axar Patel.

T20 Fixtures

October 7: JSCA International Stadium, Ranchi

October 10: Barsapara Stadium, Guwahati

October 13: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Top Stories


Complex KP leaves legacy of greatness

Our Sheffield Shield team of the year

Australia reclaim No.1 ranking

Proteas add two players to Test squad