JLT Sheffield Shield 2018-19

Cooper, Carey drive Redbacks fightback

Middle-order pair add 130 for the sixth wicket on a brilliant day in Sydney


7 December 2018, 10:30 AM AEST

Blues, Redbacks share day-one spoils

Tom Cooper and Alex Carey have engineered a fightback to have South Australia at 5-315 after day one of their JLT Sheffield Shield clash with NSW.

Half-centuries to the pair as well as Jake Weatherald (59) and Jake Lehmann (57) had the winless Redbacks in control after a see-sawing opening day at the SCG.

After debutant paceman Greg West had the visitors in trouble at 2-51 with two wickets in three balls in the opening session, the South Australians slowly worked their way back into the contest.

Dropped ... then out! Maxwell stranded in unfortunate fashion

Cooper (87 not out) and Carey (66 not out) have put on a 130-run partnership as their side chased their first win of the season.

Besides Wests' opening spell, the Blues attack largely struggled on a lifeless SCG deck.

At one point in his maiden first-class game, West had figures of 2-0, having Conor McInerney caught down the leg-side by wicketkeeper and captain Peter Nevill and then seeing Kelvin Smith off, caught behind for a second-ball duck.

Watch all 10 Tasmania wickets

The 24-year-old was only called into the side after Cricket NSW allowed Trent Copeland to take mid-season leave.

Copeland has signed with the Seven Network to be part of the commentary team during the Australia-India Test series and was given permission to pursue his media career.

Lehmann and Cooper put on 49 for the fifth wicket before the SA skipper was trapped lbw by part-timer Jason Sangha.

He came into the game with a chance to enhance his reputation as a Test-player-in-waiting - having already brought up one century and two half centuries this season - but failed to go on with it and bring up a big score.

NSW XI: Peter Nevill (c/wk),  Daniel Hughes, Nick Larkin, Kurtis Patterson, Moises Henriques, Jason Sangha, Jack Edwards, Stephen O'Keefe, Sean Abbott, Harry Conway, Greg West.

South Australia XI:  Jake Lehmann (c), Jake Weatherald, Conor McInerney, Kelvin Smith, Callum Ferguson, Tom Cooper, Alex Carey, Nick Winter, Adam Zampa, Joe Mennie, Daniel Worrall.