JLT Sheffield Shield 2018-19

Pattinson leads Vics to stirring Shield win

Ladder-leaders secure final berth after skittling NSW for just 102 to wrap up victory at Drummoyne Oval


14 March 2019, 02:55 PM AEST

Vics seal final spot with Pattinson-led win

Victoria are into their fourth JLT Sheffield Shield final in five years after James Pattinson and Peter Siddle ran through the NSW top-order at Drummoyne Oval to earn their side a 63-run win.

The second-placed NSW were bowled out for just 102 during the middle session on day three in the low-scoring penultimate-round match, having been set 166 for victory.

Former Test paceman Pattinson starred in his first match back following an injury lay-off, claiming 5-25 off 12 overs.

Pattinson skittles Blues in Shield return

Another Ashes Test aspirant in Peter Siddle was not far behind claiming 3-34 as the storm clouds swirled during the morning session.

Chasing a win to put one hand on a spot in the final, NSW's hopes nose-dived after being reduced to 3-8 and then 5-24.

There were three ducks in their top-order with openers Daniel Hughes and Nick Larkin, as well as Moises Henriques failing to score.

Jack Edwards (12), Peter Nevill (26 not out) and Steve O'Keefe (25) were the only batsman to reach double figures.

NSW's capitulation saw them edge narrowly past their lowest ever Shield score of 53 against Tasmaniain 2006/07.

Hobbled O'Keefe forgets he has a runner, gets run-out

They were also on track for their lowest score against Victoria (66) at 9-54 but passed the mark with a last-wicket partnership of 48.

After 27 wickets fell on the opening two days, Victoria resumed at 7-159, 130 runs clear of the home side.

Scott Boland (10) and Jon Holland (18 not out) posted quick runs as the Vics were bowled out for 194.

Harry Conway carves through Victoria

Tall NSW paceman Harry Conway picked up one more wicket to return 4-50 for career-best match figures of 9-64.

Victoria are all but assured of finishing top regardless of final-round results, while NSW can lock up second with a win over Tasmania.

NSW: Nick Larkin, Daniel Hughes, Kurtis Patterson, Moises Henriques, Jason Sangha, Peter Nevill (c/wk), Jack Edwards, Steve O'Keefe, Trent Copeland, Harry Conway, Greg West

Victoria: Travis Dean, Marcus Harris, Will Pucovski, Nic Maddinson, Cameron White, Matt Short, Seb Gotch (wk), James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Scott Boland, Jon Holland