Pakistan Tour of Australia

Pakistan thrash inexperienced CA XI

Babar top scores for tourists with 98 before young hosts are skittled for 138 at AB Field

Cricket Network

10 January 2017, 11:17 AM AEST

Pakistan cash in against CA XI young guns

Pakistan batsman Babar Azam bounced back to form as the tourists completed a 196-run flogging of a youthful Cricket Australia XI on Tuesday in Brisbane.

Babar Azam misses out on one-day century

In the team's only warm-up game ahead of the five-match ODI series against Australia, Babar topped the scoreboard with a 113-ball 98 that included 12 boundaries, as Pakistan piled on 7-334 from their 50 overs.

Quick Single: Tragedy strikes Pakistan ODI team

Albeit against an inexperienced team, his runs could not have come at a better time for the No.3 after averaging just 11.33 across his six Test innings in Australia.

Opener Sharjeel Khan (62) and wicketkeeper Umar Akmal (54) also blasted half-centuries before they were each dismissed after 39 balls, while veteran Shoaib Malik struck 49 from 60 balls.

Paceman Hasan Ali then took 3-18 off 6.2 overs, as the visitors comfortably ran through the home side at Allan Border Field.

Shoaib (2-20) and spinner Imad Wasim (2-23) also claimed two wickets apiece to round out the win.

Western Australian wicketkeeper Josh Inglis provided the only real defiance for the inexperienced CA XI, smashing 70 off 64 balls, before they were dismissed in the 37th over for 138.

Pakistan will be without paceman Mohammad Irfan in the ODI series after his return home following the death of his mother.

Left-arm quick Junaid Khan will replace him, selected after impressive performances in the Bangladesh Premier League and Pakistan's domestic competition.

Despite taking 78 wickets in ODIs, Junaid played the last of his 52 one-dayers against Zimbabwe in May 2015 before being dropped due to poor form.

Australia's ODI series against Pakistan gets underway at the Gabba on Friday.

CA XI: Travis Dean, Will Pucovski, Sam Raphael, Will Bosisto (c), Jason Sangha, Josh Inglis (wk), Clint Hinchcliffe, Will Sutherland, Cameron Green, Henry Thornton, Riley Meredith. Lloyd Pope (12th)

Pakistan ODI squad: Azhar Ali (c), Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Rahat Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hafeez, Junaid Khan.