JLT Sheffield Shield 2017-18

Nielsen's hundred on debut saves Redbacks

New boy posts a century as South Australia recover from early collapse against Victoria in Adelaide


8 February 2018, 07:07 PM AEST

Day one highlights: South Australia v Victoria

Debutant wicketkeeper Harry Nielsen has rescued South Australia with an impressive century as the Redbacks recovered from a top-order collapse against Victoria at Adelaide Oval.

Nielsen was the unlikely hero with his 105 pivotal in helping the Redbacks reach 9-357 at the close of play on the first day of JLT Sheffield Shield action for this calendar year on Thursday.

Nielsen celebrates century on Shield debut

The 22-year-old gloveman played with composure throughout the day after coming to the wicket with South Australia 5-126, having earlier been 3-34.

Nielsen is just the ninth player to score a century in a debut innings for South Australia in the Shield.

Highlights of Harry Nielsen's debut century

No.5 Jake Lehmann scored a diligent 83, sharing in an 86-run stand with him for the sixth wicket.

Allrounder Joe Mennie then cracked a lusty 75 off just 96 balls to take the match away from Victoria, after the visitors had sent the home side into bat.

Mennie posts rearguard fifty against Victoria

Mennie and Nielsen put on 143 for the seventh wicket off just 30 overs.

A succession of late wickets fell past the scheduled closing time with the Victoria's pace trio doing all the damage.

Lehmann stands tall with a fifty in Adelaide

Chris Tremain led the way with 4-80, able supported by Scott Boland (3-71) and Peter Siddle (2-75).

Shield holders Victoria sit at the bottom of the standings without a win this season, while South Australia have won just one of their five outings.

Weatherald back down to earth with first-ball duck

South Australia: Jake Weatherald, Kelvin Smith, John Dalton, Tom Cooper, Jake Lehmann, Alex Ross, Harry Nielsen, Joe Mennie, Chadd Sayers, Daniel Worrall, Nick Winter.

Victoria: Travis Dean, Marcus Harris, Eamonn Vines, Cameron White, Peter Handscomb, Matthew Short, Seb Gotch, Peter Siddle, Chris Tremain, Scott Boland, Jon Holland.