Back to top




Wade, Neser get Australia A call

04 August 2014

Cricket Network

Cricket Network

Henriques captain for South Africa A matches

Quick Single: Lyon, Smith back in Australia's ODI squad

Former Test wicketkeeper Matthew Wade and Queensland quick Michael Neser have been called in to Australia A's squad for the four-day matches against South Africa A in Townsville.

Wade and Neser have been drafted in to replace James Faulkner and Ben Cutting, who have both been selected for Australia's one-day tour of Zimbabwe.

Wade has been selected as a batsman only, with NSW wicketkeeper Peter Nevill to retain the gloves.

Gurinder Sandhu and Marcus Stoinis retain their places in the side having earlier been called in to replace the injured Josh Hazlewood (side strain) and Chris Lynn (shoulder).

Leg-spinner Cameron Boyce will travel with the squad as an additional player, while NSW all-rounder Moises Henriques will take over the captaincy from Faulkner.

Australia A and South Africa A will play two four-day matches at Tony Ireland Stadium in Townsville, starting on August 7 and August 14.

Australia A squad
Moises Henriques (captain, NSW), Jason Berendhorff (WA), Cameron Boyce (QLD), Tom Cooper (SA), Callum Ferguson (SA), Peter Forrest (QLD), Phillip Hughes (SA), Michael Neser (QLD), Peter Nevill (NSW), Steve O’Keefe (NSW), Gurinder Sandhu (NSW), Chadd Sayers (SA), Marcus Stoinis (VIC), Matthew Wade (VIC)