'Gades, Sixers make semi-final changes

The hosts recall a veteran while the visitors call on youth for the blockbuster clash

Sam Ferris

14 February 2019, 01:43 PM AEST

Melbourne Renegades and Sydney Sixers have both made changes to their squads for tomorrow night's KFC BBL semi-final at Marvel Stadium.

The recall of internationals Mohammed Nabi (Renegades) and Tom Curran (Sixers) meant both sides were forced into altering their squad for sudden-death clash.

Nabi has been replaced by veteran Cameron White, who returns having missed the past two games with a hamstring injury.

The Sixers have called-up Ben Manenti and Justin Avendano to cover the loss of Curran, while leg-spinner Lloyd Pope has been omitted.

The two sides have met twice this season with the honours evenly shared.

On December 29 in Melbourne, the Sixers defended 7-132 by restricting the Renegades to 9-99 from 20 overs, with Manenti named player of the match for his 2-13 from four overs.

Sixers spin a web to wrap up Renegades

Two-and-a-half weeks later, the Renegades exacted their revenge with a comprehensive win at the SCG.

Having kept the Sixers to 9-115 thanks to 3-23 from BBL|08 leading wicket-taker Kane Richardson, the visitors chased down the total in 13 overs with seven wickets in the bank.

Gung-ho 'Gades charge to victory

Former Australia fast bowler and Adelaide Strikers head coach Jason Gillespie says the loss of Curran, who this week signed a three-year deal with the Sixers, gives Friday's hosts the edge.

"I think the Renegades should win it and I say that because the Sixers have lost Tom Curran," Gillespie said on this week's episode of The Unplayable Podcast.

"I'm going home ground advantage there."

Melbourne Renegades: Aaron Finch (c), Cameron Boyce, Dan Christian, Tom Cooper, Harry Gurney, Sam Harper, Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Jon Holland, Cameron White, Kane Richardson, Chris Tremain, Jack Wildermuth

Sydney Sixers: Sean Abbott, Justin Avendano, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Moises Henriques (c), Dan Hughes, Nathan Lyon, Ben Manenti, Steve O'Keefe, Josh Philippe, Jordan Silk, James Vince