Magellan Ashes 2017-18

Lyon's magnificent seven over Moeen

Off-spinner removes fellow tweaker for the seventh time in the series, equalling the all-time Test record

Sam Ferris at the SCG

8 January 2018, 11:37 AM AEST

Lyon completes magnificent seven over Moeen

Nathan Lyon’s dominance over Moeen Ali has reached historic heights after the England allrounder was dismissed by the Australian for the seventh time in the Magellan Ashes Series.

Lyon has become fifth bowler in the history of Test cricket to dismiss the same batsman seven times in one series, joining fellow Australians Glenn McGrath, Geoff Lawson and Clarrie Grimmett and England’s Brian Statham.

Lyon is the first bowler to remove the same batsman seven times in just nine innings in a series.

Mr Cricket on the GOAT v Moeen Ali

On the stroke of drinks in the morning session on day five at the SCG, Lyon had Moeen lbw for 13 to complete the record.

Moeen’s troubles against Lyon started in the first Test in Brisbane where he was trapped lbw in the first innings before he was out stumped by the narrowest of margins in the second innings.

A stunning return catch and another lbw brought about his downfalls in the second Test in Adelaide as Australia romped to a two-nil series lead.

'Absolutely brilliant from Nathan Lyon ... look at this!'

In the Ashes-sealing victory in Perth, the streak was broken by Pat Cummins, who extracted an edge from the left-hander through to Steve Smith at second slip in the first innings. However, normal service resumed in the fourth innings when Moeen was again trapped leg before with a ball that slid on with the arm.

In Melbourne, Moeen’s expansive innings of 20 from 14 balls ended when he flat-batted a rare long-hop to cover and Shaun Marsh took a good catch above his head. The slow MCG pitch meant England didn't bat a second time in that match and prevented Moeen from batting a 10th time this summer.

McGrath holds the world record for the most Test dismissals of one batsman overall after capturing former England captain Michael Atherton’s wicket 19 times.

McGrath removed Atherton seven times in the 1997 Ashes series // Getty
McGrath removed Atherton seven times in the 1997 Ashes series // Getty

Seven of those wickets came in 12 innings in the 1997 Ashes series in England, a six-Test tour that Australia won 3-2.

Eight years earlier, Lawson had classy batsman David Gower seven times in 11 innings as Australia regained the Ashes with a stirring 4-0 victory.

In 1960, Statham – the Lancashire quick – removed South Africa’s Trevor Goddard on seven occasions in 10 innings while in the summer of 1935-36, the wily leg-spin of Grimmett accounted for South Africa’s Jack Siedle on seven occasions out of 10.

Lyon's delivery to remember receives gong

England assistant coach Paul Farbrace says Lyon’s impact in this series has been as great as run-machine Steve Smith.

"I think he’s had a fantastic effect on this series and he really has been ... there were times when you talk about on flat pitches, let’s make sure we get the seamers into second/third/fourth spells, he has been able to come on and bowl long spells," Farbrace said.

"Right back to Brisbane, that surface probably surprised all of us with the way that it played, he bowled brilliantly from there and almost in a way we’ve not got away from his stranglehold.

Ponting analyses Lyon's brilliant run out

"He bowled very well to start well there, we’ve found him hard to rotate against and he’s gone on to have a massive effect on this series.

"Along with Steven Smith has been their star performer in that he’s allowed their seamers to have decent periods of rest and he’s always been a threat and he’s always taken important wickets throughout the series, which is testimony to his high-level of skill."

2017-18 International Fixtures

Magellan Ashes Series

Australia Test squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Jackson Bird.

England Test squad: Joe Root (c), James Anderson (vc), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Mason Crane, Tom Curran, Ben Foakes, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ben Stokes, Mark Stoneman, James Vince, Chris Woakes.

First Test Australia won by 10 wickets. Scorecard

Second Test Australia won by 120 runs (Day-Night). Scorecard

Third Test Australia won by an innings and 41 runs. Scorecard

Fourth Test Match drawn. Scorecard

Fifth Test SCG, January 4-8 (Pink Test). Scorecard

Gillette ODI Series v England

First ODI MCG, January 14. Tickets

Second ODI Gabba, January 19. Tickets

Third ODI SCG, January 21. Tickets

Fourth ODI Adelaide Oval, January 26. Tickets

Fifth ODI Perth Stadium, January 28. Tickets

Prime Minister's XI

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Tickets

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Tickets

Second T20I – Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Tickets

Third T20I – Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Tickets

Fourth T20I – NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I – NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I – NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final – TBC, Eden Park, February 21