Back to top



Dickwella fined for stumping attempt

01 July 2017

Mire and Dickwella in action during the first ODI // Getty

Callum Kanoniuk


Callum Kanoniuk


Sri Lankan found guilty of breaching the code of conduct during Zimbabwe's historic run chase

Sri Lanka wicketkeeper Niroshan Dickwella has been sanctioned by the International Cricket Council after a cunning attempt at a stumping during his side’s shock one-day international loss to Zimbabwe in Galle.

Match referee Chris Broad found Dickwella guilty of violating Article 2.1.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct – relating to conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game – and he was subsequently fined 30 per cent of his match fee, as well as receiving two demerit points to put him on the brink of suspension.

Mire downs Sri Lanka with mighty ton

The incident occurred in the seventh over of Zimbabwe’s record-breaking run chase when Dickwella attempted a stumping against player of the match Solomon Mire.

Spinner Akila Dananjaya sent down his first international delivery in four years with Dickwella collecting a leg-side wide. He then waited an extended period of time with the ball still in his gloves, while Mire maintained his sweep shot pose with his right foot behind the crease.

Following a patient wait, the Sri Lankan ‘keeper then dislodged the bails at the first instance of movement from the seemingly oblivious batsman.

An exuberant appeal then followed from the home side, leading to a brief meeting between field umpires Ian Gould and Ruchira Palliyaguruge where they agreed to send it up to the third umpire for further inspection.

Replays showed Mire had managed to keep his foot behind the line at all times and was free to continue compiling a memorable maiden century featuring 14 boundaries as Zimbabwe became the first team ever to chase down a target of 300 or more in an ODI on Sri Lankan soil.

The stumping attempt was somewhat reminiscent of this Dimuth Karunaratne dismissal in Australia's tour of the island nation last year, however the ball was still deemed to be in play when Peter Nevill whipped off the bails.

Nifty Nev's cheeky stumping does for Karunaratne

The umpires laid the charge after the match and Dickwella accepted Broad’s proposed sanctions, meaning a formal hearing was not required.

The gloveman now has seven demerit points to his name and just one more point within a two-year period would result in a ban of up to two Tests or four limited-overs matches, depending on the playing schedule.

Dickwella was handed a two-match ban during the Twenty20 tour of Australia earlier this year when he was found guilty of dissent following his controversial dismissal in the Geelong encounter.

Niroshan Dickwella's controversial wicket

Sri Lanka will be aiming to level the five-match series when the sides return to Galle International Stadium for the second ODI on Sunday.

About the Writer

Callum Kanoniuk is social media editor and writer for He likes working obscure quotes from The Simpsons into cricket tweets.