Gillette ODI Series 2018

Quicks rested from opening ODIs

Josh Hazlewood will sit out Sunday's opening ODI, while fellow quick Pat Cummins will be rested from the second match in Brisbane

Martin Smith at the MCG

11 January 2018, 07:22 PM AEST

Zampa resolved after ODI wake-up call

Josh Hazlewood has been rested from the first Gillette ODI against England and Pat Cummins will skip the second game of the series as Australia look to manage their fast bowlers ahead of the Test tour of South Africa.

Hazlewood's absence from Sunday's series opener means one or both of Andrew Tye and Jhye Richardson will make their ODI debut at the MCG. Hazlewood will re-join the squad for the second game in Brisbane, which Cummins will miss.

Chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns had already flagged that Cummins, Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc won't play all matches in the one-day series as they look ahead of March's Test series against the Proteas.

Having played all five Tests in the Ashes win over England, Hazlewood and Cummins are the first to be given a break, with Starc set to sit out later in the series.

Cummins bowled 197.1 overs in the Ashes, while Hazlewood bowled 190.5. Starc, who missed the fourth Test in Melbourne due to injury, bowled 162.3 overs in four Tests. 

Starc and Cummins will lead the attack at the MCG on Sunday and, depending on conditions, both Tye and Richardson could join them in a four-man pace attack ahead of spinner Adam Zampa.

Speaking last week, Cummins said he was expecting to be rested from some cricket in the coming weeks.

"They're going to reassess after this game (the fifth Test in Sydney). There was a bit of chat we might rest from one or two," Cummins told reporters.

"We've got a bit of a break before the ODIs start.

"I don't know yet. It takes a little bit to get over each Test but once you're over a Test, you're ready to start bowling and 10 overs in an ODI is a bit easier than a Test."

The issue of workload management is divisive but selectors will be keen to ensure Cummins is cherry ripe for the South African series.

Zampa resolved after ODI wake-up call

Cummins earlier told ABC Radio he'd been surprised by both his durability and the docile nature of pitches during his maiden home Test series.

Cummins, who endured almost six years of injury hell before returning to the Test XI last year, admitted pre-series he wasn't sure if he could get through the summer without being rested from a Test.

He is now the most resilient member of the attack, having played nine straight Tests.

"At the start of the summer, being pretty realistic I thought five games would have been a long stretch," Cummins said.

"I've been really surprised with how well I've pulled up after each game.

"If we'd had a few heavier games and I had a few aches and pains then it probably would have been spoken about."

2017-18 International Fixtures

Gillette ODI Series v England

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Cameron White, Adam Zampa.

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

First ODI MCG, January 14. Tickets

Second ODI Gabba, January 19. Tickets

Third ODI SCG, January 21. Tickets

Fourth ODI Adelaide Oval, January 26. Tickets

Fifth ODI Perth Stadium, January 28. Tickets

Prime Minister's XI

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Tickets

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

England T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Tickets

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Tickets

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Tickets

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21