Rookie, Richo headline SA's Shield squad

Redbacks recall Richardson and Andrews for Sheffield Shield final against Victoria

Rookie South Australia batsman John Dalton's second ever first-class match will come in the heat of this weekend's Sheffield Shield final against Victoria in Alice Springs.

Dalton posted scores of 40 and 71 in an impressive Shield debut against Tasmania last week and will take the strong average of 55.50 into the decider against the Bushrangers at Traeger Park, starting on Sunday.

Dalton posts key half-century on Shield debut

The Redbacks have recalled paceman Kane Richardson and spinner Tom Andrews in an extended 13-man squad for the clash, a replay of last year's final.

"We’ve heard that (Traeger Park) is a good cricket wicket and that it tends to spin a bit later in the game, but we think we have the squad and the group ready to take advantage of the conditions and put our best foot forward," the SACA's General Manager of High Performance Tim Nielsen said.

"We need to play positively and aggressively and back ourselves in and make sure that we give ourselves the best chance of winning the game.

"This year, unlike last year, we have to win to hoist the Shield in the air so there’s no second option."

Despite making the decider last year, the Redbacks will field several final debutants this week; veteran batsmen Callum Ferguson (injury) and Tom Cooper (dropped) both missed last year's clash in Glenelg, while Richardson and legspinner Adam Zampa also missed the Final 12 months ago.

Victoria have made one change to their squad, recalling leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed in place of paceman Jackson Coleman.

Quick Single: Victoria recall Ahmed for Shield final

Ahmed played his first Shield game of the season earlier this month when he took five wickets in Alice Springs as Victoria beat Western Australia by eight wickets.

The Bushrangers, two-time defending champions, will be aiming to become the first Victorian side to win three consecutive Shield titles.


Cameron White (c), Fawad Ahmed, Scott Boland, Dan Christian, Travis Dean, Aaron Finch, Seb Gotch (wk), Marcus Harris, Jon Holland, James Pattinson, Rob Quiney, Chris Tremain

South Australia

Travis Head (c), Tom Andrews, Alex Carey (wk), Tom Cooper, John Dalton, Callum Ferguson, Jake Lehmann, Joe Mennie, Kane Richardson, Chadd Sayers, Jake Weatherald, Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa