Southern Stars to welcome NZ and SA

Australia's best female cricketers all set for another massive summer of action across the country

The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars will host South Africa and New Zealand in a busy 2016-17 summer of cricket for the country's best female players.

Australia will meet South Africa in a five-match one-day international series in November, with matches to played in Canberra, Sydney and Coffs Harbour after Cricket Australia today released the remainder of the summer schedule.

The series will begin with two matches at Canberra's Manuka Oval, continuing at North Sydney Oval before concluding with two matches at Coffs Harbour International Stadium.

In February, the Southern Stars will take on the White Ferns in three Twenty20 Internationals that will be played as double headers with the KFC T20INTL Series between the Australia men's team and Sri Lanka.

Quick Single: Sharp Schutt ready to fire

The joint T20 international series will be played at the MCG (February 17), Geelong's Kardinia Park (February 19) and Adelaide Oval (February 22).

The two international series will bookend the second season of the Women's Big Bash League, which will run from December 10-January 28.

Three of the ODIs against South Africa will be played as part of the International Cricket Council's Women's One-Day Championship.

Australia currently sit on top of the table and will be desperate to claim the inaugural Championship to ensure they head into next year's Women's World Cup as the No.1 ranked team.

The Proteas currently sit fifth on the table, but boast a talented squad including WBBL|01 players Dane van Niekerk, Mignon du Preez and Marizanne Kapp.

"The women’s game in Australia is seeing phenomenal growth in participation and following for our national team," Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said.

"Girls and women are playing cricket in record numbers and participation growth last summer was fuelled by the incredibly successful launch of the Women's Big Bash League.

Quick Singles: Hockey stars try their hand at cricket

"Whilst cricket has had a national female competition for more than 80 years, we are committed to further investment to grow the female game. The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars are the world's number one ranked women's team – and our female cricketers are deservedly the best paid of all women's team sports in our country."

The three T20 double headers against New Zealand will be broadcast live on Channel Nine.

Australia will be eager to turn the tables on the White Ferns, after losing a T20 series 2-1 on New Zealand soil earlier this year and falling to their trans-Tasman rivals during the group stage of the World T20 in India.

"We'd like to thank Channel Nine for their commitment to the women's game as well. It's fantastic to be able to have the Southern Stars accessible to fans around the country and the world," Sutherland said.

"Our female cricketers are wonderful role models and we are delighted to see their increasing exposure is inspiring more and more girls to play cricket."

Women's International Schedule, 2016-17

Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars v South Africa ODIs

18 November: Manuka Oval, Canberra

20 November: Manuka Oval, Canberra

23 November: North Sydney Oval, Sydney

27 November: Coffs Harbour International Stadium, Coffs Harbour

29 November: Coffs Harbour International Stadium, Coffs Harbour

Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars v New Zealand T20s

17 February: MCG, Melbourne

19 February: Kardinia Park, Geelong

22 February: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Tickets to the KFC T20INTL Series and the Prime Minister's XI match will go on sale from 2 September 2016.

For priority access and a 20 per cent discount on gold and platinum seats, fans are encouraged to sign up to the Australian Cricket Family at before 21 August 2016. Membership is free.

Cricket Australia Official Hospitality is now on sale for the 2016-17 international season. New for 2016-17 is a family lounge that means guests can enjoy world-class cricket hospitality with the whole family. More information here.

Tickets to the remainder of the 2016-17 International summer of cricket are on sale now here.

Meg Lanning Steve Smith