Women's T20 World Cup 2020

Aussie eyes turn to 2020 World Cup

The Southern Stars brains trust target a new era of Australian dominance on the global stage after winning the world T20 title

Laura Jolly in Antigua

26 November 2018, 09:03 AM AEST

Australia romp to fourth World T20 title

Australia coach Matthew Mott hopes his team's triumph in Antigua is just the start of a new era of dominance, with the next T20 World Cup on home soil in early 2020 already looming large.

The Southern Stars won their first ICC title since 2014 when they cruised to an eight-wicket win over England at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.

Australia will host the next edition of both the women's and men's tournaments – which the ICC announced on Friday had been renamed as the T20 World Cup – with the women's event to be held in February-March 2020.

Sitting top of the rankings in both formats thanks to a fearless new style of play, and with a host of fresh faces starting to flourish at international level, including recent debutants Sophie Molineux, Georgia Wareham and Tayla Vlaeminck alongside fellow young gun Ashleigh Gardner, Mott believes his squad is well poised to claim more silverware in the coming years.

"Certainly now we've had a taste of winning again, hopefully that's infectious," Mott said as Australia lapped up their win in Antigua on Sunday.

Both Cricket Australia and the ICC hope to set attendance records at the event, continuing the build on the momentum created by last summer's Ashes, the recent CommBank T20 series against New Zealand and the Rebel WBBL.

Their goals include filling the MCG for the final on March 8, which doubles as International Women's Day.

"The 2020 World Cup has always been in everyone's eyeline, Cricket Australia is putting a huge amount of value on that," Mott said.

"International Women's Day in 2020 is just going to be momentous and that's one of the biggest things on Cricket Australia's agenda at the moment.

"We've got a huge part to play in that and we want to keep winning, and we want to keep playing that brand of cricket where people turn on the tv and say 'geez these guys are having a good time'."

The 2020 event will be the first time Australia has hosted a major women's tournament since the 2009 one-day World Cup and the chance to compete for a World Cup in front of home crowds will be a first for every member of the Australian squad bar veteran Ellyse Perry.

There's a busy year ahead for Meg Lanning's team, who have a home ODI series against New Zealand in February, an Ashes in the UK, a home series against Sri Lanka and an away tour of the West Indies before the 2020 T20 World Cup.

Gardner does it all on biggest stage

Lanning, the Australia captain, hopes the weekend result, coming after disappointments at World Cups in 2016 and 2017, is the start of a new dynasty of dominance for the Australians, who won four titles between 2010 and 2014.

"We want to be a very consistent cricket team," Lanning said after hitting the winning runs to chase down England's 105 all out.

"And I think we have done that over the last few years without the success at world tournaments, so hopefully this win is sort of the start of something.

"I've got no doubt that this group is capable of something special.

"We've really put together an amazing squad and support staff to be able to move the game forward and be part of the women's game, which is going to grow so much over the next couple of years.

"The T20 World Cup is in Australia in 2020, which is going to be massive.

"I think we've shown that we can be the world's best team and it's nice to get the World Cup success here, but we're very keen to make sure we're very consistent and continue to win as many games as we can."

2018 ICC Women's World T20  

Australia squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Nicole Bolton, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (wk), Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham

November 9: Australia beat Pakistan by 52 runs

November 11: Australia beat Ireland by nine wickets

November 13: Australia beat New Zealand by 33 runs

November 17: Australia lost to India by 48 runs

November 22: Semi-final: Australia beat West Indies by 71 runs

November 24: Final: Australia beat England by eight wickets