Tigers' Tamim fined for ICC breach

In-form Bangladesh opener cops penalty from governing body after umpire exchange and Wade send-off

Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal has been landed in hot water with the ICC following his team's first Test win over Australia in Dhaka. 

Tamim, who was a star performer for the hosts with a double of 71 and 78 in the historic win, was fined 15 per cent of his match fee and handed one demerit point for two separate offences.

The first occurred in the morning session of day four, when he objected to the regular changing of gloves of Australia's batsmen, and engaged in an ongoing dialogues with the umpires about the matter. 

Shortly thereafter, he approached Matthew Wade and gestured towards him to leave the field upon his dismissal.

Dramatic session sets up nail-biting finish

After the match, Tamim admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by Jeff Crowe of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees and, as such, there was no need for a formal hearing.

The charge was levelled by on-field umpires Aleem Dar and Nigel Llong, third umpire Ian Gould, all from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, and fourth umpire Anisur Rahman.

The 28-year-old spoke out during the Test match about the state of the Dhaka pitch, suggesting it wasn't aligned with the grassy wickets regularly found in Bangladesh's first-class competition. 

"The wicket is unpredictable - anything can happen," Tamim said of the Dhaka surface. "My question is, how many times do we get to play in these wickets in domestic cricket?

"We only play on these wickets in international matches, because it gives us an advantage over the foreign side.

"We are busy with grassy wickets in domestic cricket although we never play on those in international matches at home. This thinking has to change."

Bangladesh lead the two-match series one-nil, with the second Test to get underway in Chittagong next Monday, September 4. 

Raw vision: Jubilant celebrations after memorable victory

Australia in Bangladesh 2017

Australia squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Ashton Agar, Jackson Bird, Hilton Cartwright, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Steve O'Keefe, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade.

Bangladesh squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Liton Das, Taskin Ahmed, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Mominul Haque.

27-31 August First Test, Dhaka, Bangladesh won by 20 runs

4-8 September Second Test, Chittagong