Back to top




Five Tigers debutants in Matador Cup squad

21 September 2016

Tim Paine will captain a fresh-faced Tigers squad in the Matador Cup // Getty

Cricket Network

Cricket Network

Tim Paine to lead new-look Tasmania squad for domestic one-day tournament

A summer of change looms in Tasmania with the announcement of five fresh faces in the Tigers' 14-man Matador One-Day Cup squad.

Tasmania, who will be led by Tim Paine, with Xavier Doherty his deputy, are set to boast a new-look line-up with the arrivals of former Queensland trio Cameron Boyce, Simon Milenko and Ben McDermott, as well as young guns Cameron Stevenson and Beau Webster.

Quick Single: Ferguson returns to lead Redbacks

"We have selected a squad with a really good mix of youth and experience and we are looking forward to seeing the start of our debutants journeys with the Tasmanian Tigers," said Tigers coach Dan Marsh said.

"We have had a big focus on our skill development this pre-season with (Alex) Doolan, (Jackson) Bird, Stevenson and Webster all putting in some good performances in the trial matches.

"If everyone in the 14-man squad plays their role then we can expect a really successful Matador Cup."

Quick Single: NSW name squad for Matador Cup defence

Webster, a tall middle-order batsman who bowls part-time off-spin, also impressed with Australia A across two first-class matches in Brisbane against India A over the past fortnight.

Rangy Webster notches half-century

The 22-year-old right-hander made a vital 30 on the final day of the first match to help the Australians towards a tense three-wicket win, before he struck 79 in the first innings of the washed-out second match.

Quick Single: Bulls name new skipper for Matador

The Tigers' Matador Cup fixture begins against Queensland on October 3 at AB Field in Brisbane.  The team will play two matches in the sunshine state before heading to Sydney for four matches. The finals are to be played on October 21 (elimination) and October 23 (final).

Western Australia and Victoria are also set to name their Matador Cup squads imminently, with the tournament beginning on Saturday October 1.

Quick Single: Full Matador One-Day Cup schedule

Tasmanian Tigers matches

October 3 v QLD, AB Field Brisbane

October 5 v CAXI, AB Field Brisbane

October 9 v NSW, Hurstville, Sydney

October 13 v VIC, North Sydney Oval*

October 15 v WA, North Sydney Oval*

October 19 v SA, Hurstville

October 21: Qualifying Final

October 23: Final

*Live broadcast

Tasmanian Tigers Matador BBQs One-Day Cup squad: Tim Paine (c), Xavier Doherty (vc), Ben Dunk, Dominic Michael, Alex Doolan, Jake Doran, Ben McDermott, Beau Webster, Simon Milenko, Hamish Kingston, Cameron Stevenson, Jackson Bird, Andrew Fekete, Cameron Boyce

2016 Matador Cup – broadcast matches

Oct 6: Qld v WA, WACA. Oct 8: WA v Vic, WACA. Oct 9: SA v WA, WACA. Oct 12: SA v NSW, Drummoyne Oval. Oct 13: Vic v Tas, North Sydney Oval. Oct 14: Qld v NSW d/n, Drummoyne. Oct 15: Tas v WA, North Sydney. Oct 16: NSW v Vic d/n, North Sydney. Oct 18: Vic v Qld, Drummoyne. Oct 19: NSW v WA, North Sydney. Oct 21: Qualifying final, d/n, Drummoyne. Oct 23: Final, North Sydney.