Magellan Ashes 2017-18

Marsh, Warner cleared for first Test

Skipper Root elects to bat first at the Gabba as Bancroft becomes Test player No.451 while Marsh and Warner overcome injury scares

Cricket Network

23 November 2017, 11:03 AM AEST

Batting duo David Warner and Shaun Marsh have both overcome injury scares and will take their respective places in Australia's side for the first Magellan Ashes Test against England.

There were no late surprises in either XI with the two sides lining up as announced by captains Steve Smith and Joe Root on the eve of hotly-anticipated series-opener at the Gabba.

Root called correctly at the toss, with the visiting skipper electing to bat first on a cloudy morning in Brisbane.

Marsh, who will bat at No.6, had pulled up with a stiff back after training on Wednesday, joining Warner (stiff neck) as a concern for the hosts and forcing selectors to fly Glenn Maxwell in as standby.

But Marsh batted in the Gabba nets for an extended period this morning against Maxwell's off-spin and along with Warner was passed fit to play in the opening clash of the five-match series. 

Cameron Bancroft, who will open the batting with Warner, was earlier presented with his Baggy Green from former Test batsman and fellow Western Australian Geoff Marsh, with the 25-year-old becoming the 451st player to play Test cricket for Australia.

Bancroft (r) receives his Baggy Green as Paine (l) watches on // Getty
Bancroft (r) receives his Baggy Green as Paine (l) watches on // Getty

Wicketkeeper Tim Paine will slot in at No.7 after a seven-year absence from the Test side, rounding out a batting line-up featuring Usman Khawaja at first drop, Smith at four and Peter Handscomb at five.

The fearsome pace trio Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins will play their first ever Test together, with offie Nathan Lyon the sole spinner in the attack.

England as expected have picked Jake Ball to round out their four-man pace line-up, with inexperienced batsmen Mark Stoneman, James Vince and Dawid Malan featuring alongside skipper Root and veteran opener Alastair Cook. 

Stuart Broad and James Anderson are England's spearheads with the ball while off-spinning allrounder Moeen Ali, wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow and seamer Chris Woakes will play crucial lower-order roles in the absence of star Ben Stokes.

2017-18 International Fixtures:

Magellan Ashes Series

First Test Gabba, November 23-27. Buy tickets

Second Test Adelaide Oval, December 2-6 (Day-Night). Buy tickets

Third Test WACA Ground, December 14-18. Buy tickets

Fourth Test MCG, December 26-30. Buy tickets

Fifth Test SCG, January 4-8 (Pink Test). Buy tickets

Gillette ODI Series v England

First ODI MCG, January 14. Buy tickets

Second ODI Gabba, January 19. Buy tickets

Third ODI SCG, January 21. Buy tickets

Fourth ODI Adelaide Oval, January 26. Buy tickets

Fifth ODI Perth TBC, January 28. Join the ACF

Prime Minister's XI

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Buy tickets

Gillette T20 INTL Series

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Buy tickets

Second T20I – Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Buy tickets

Third T20I – Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Buy tickets

Fourth T20I – NZ v England, Wellington, February 13

Fifth T20I – NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I – NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final – TBC, Eden Park, February 21