Gillette ODI Series 2018

First ODI: England win toss and bowl first

Tye set to debut for Australia as White misses out for series opener at MCG

Cricket Network

14 January 2018, 02:34 PM AEST

England captain Eoin Morgan has won the toss and elected to bowl first in the opening Gilette Series ODI at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. 

Australia have called up right-arm quick Andrew Tye to debut as part of a three-man pace attack, with Mitchell Marsh and Marcus Stoinis offering seam support on an MCG pitch with a tinge of green. 

Tye, who becomes Australia's 222nd ODI player, is the leading wicket-taker in this summer's KFC Big Bash, with 16 victims in six matches for defending champions Perth Scorchers.

Leg-spinner Adam Zampa has also been included while the recalled Cameron White misses out on the XI. 

Smith backs Warner to bounce back from stomach bug

David Warner has been named to open the batting despite battling a stomach bug that prevented him from training in the build-up to this series opener.

The two sides last met in the ICC Champions Trophy in Birmingham last June, with Ben Stokes scoring a match-winning hundred for the hosts. 

The last time they faced off in Australia was at the same venue in their 2015 ICC World Cup opener, when Aaron Finch's 135 powered Australia to a convincing 111-run win.

Australia XI: Aaron Finch, David Warner, Steve Smith (c), Travis Head, Marcus Stoinis, Mitch Marsh, Tim Paine, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Andrew Tye

England XI: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood

2017-18 International Fixtures

Gillette ODI Series v England

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Cameron White, Adam Zampa.

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

First ODI MCG, January 14. Tickets

Second ODI Gabba, January 19. Tickets

Third ODI SCG, January 21. Tickets

Fourth ODI Adelaide Oval, January 26. Tickets

Fifth ODI Perth Stadium, January 28. Tickets

Prime Minister's XI

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Tickets

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

England T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Tickets

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Tickets

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Tickets

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21