Trophy adds spice to Melbourne derby

Stars and Renegades reveal a host of new recruits as the inaugural WBBL season draws closer

When the Stars and Renegades walk out onto the Melbourne Cricket Ground for their first Women’s Big Bash League local derby in January, there will be more than just competition points on the line.

The rivals will be playing for the inaugural Lanning-Elliott Cup, named for their respective skippers – Meg Lanning (Stars) and Sarah Elliott (Renegades).

The first showdown between the franchises is on January 2 – the first leg of a double header to be followed by the first KFC Big Bash League Melbourne derby – and will be televised on Channel 10.

Quick single: Thunder, Sixers unveil WBBL signings

As Lanning and Elliott had their first look at the trophy at the MCG on Friday, the Stars and Renegades also announced a host of additions to their line-ups for WBBL|01.

The Stars have secured the signature of Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars leg-spinner Kristen Beams, experienced batter Kelley Applebee and young leggie Alana King, while the Renegades unveiled allrounder Briana Binch.

"It’s great to have Kristen, Kelly and Alana on board with the Stars in the first ever WBBL," Lanning said.

"Kristen and Kelly’s experience will be invaluable to us while Alana is a young promising bowler.

"Our list is balanced with a good mix of batters and bowlers and I am looking forward to seeing what lies ahead this summer."

Quick single: Young guns to watch in BBL|05

While they were be in fierce competition on the field, the Stars and Renegades will share one thing in WBBL|01 – the support of new sponsor VicHealth.

Both clubs have also called on Australian netball royalty to give them an advantage in WBBL|01, with Sharelle McMahon to act as mentor and club ambassador for the Stars.

The Renegades had already revealed Bianca Chatfield would swap the court for the cricket pitch this summer, with the retired champions to share their wealth of expertise about competing at the highest level.

Renegades squad: Sarah Elliott (captain), Dane Van Niekerk (RSA), Danielle Wyatt (ENG), Rachel Priest (NZ), Cassie Brock, Nicola Hancock, Molly Strano, Sophie Molineux, Kris Britt, Jenny Taffs, Erica Kershaw, Kirsty Lamb.

Stars squad: Meg Lanning (captain), Kelly Applebee, Kristen Beams, Mignon du Preez, Kathleen Hempenstall, Emma Inglis, Emma Kearney, Alana King, Anna Lanning, Katie Mack, Morna Nielsen, Natalie Sciver, Gemma Triscari.

The Inner Circle: Warner's WACA ton

EXCLUSIVE: David Warner looks back on one of the most devastating Test knocks ever seen in Australia. Remember, eligible Optus customers are entitled to a free Live Pass to stream cricket from (Australia only)! Learn more HERE:

Posted by Optus Sport on Wednesday, November 11, 2015