Younis names his best-ever Test XI

Recently-retired Pakistan champion picks power-packed dream-team for the longest format

Younis Khan found room for two Australians in his all-time greatest Test team and the legendary batsman named a Pakistan great as captain of the side. 

At a tribute night in his honour at Lord's, Younis selected Imran Khan as captain of his best-ever Test XI, which features Adam Gilchrist as wicketkeeper and Glenn McGrath as the leader of a fearsome pace attack.

Quick Single: Pakistan to play T20 friendly in Kabul

India maestro Sachin Tendulkar and Pakistan batsman Hanif Mohammad open the batting in Younis' dream-team, with modern-day stars Jacques Kallis and Brian Lara slotting in at three and four respectively.

West Indians Viv Richards and Garfield Sobers, along with Gilchrist and Imran, complete a devastating middle order.

The side has no shortage of batting firepower, with allrounder Richard Hadlee selected at No.9, while Muttiah Muralidaran and McGrath are the two specialist bowlers.

Younis reaches 10,000 Test runs as Windies hit back

Australia legend Shane Warne's omission at the expense of Muralidaran is sure to fire up fans of the King of Spin, but a look at Younis' record against the pair may provide an insight into his thinking.

The Sri Lankan mystery spinner dismissed Younis five times in ten Tests, with only Ranaga Herath (eight times), Stuart Broad (six) and Dale Steyn (six) removing the right-hander on more occasions.

Quick Single: Unfancied Pakistan face stiff challenge

McGrath too claimed Younis' scalp five times in the longest format, while Warne dismissed him just twice, at a cost of 83 runs in six matches.

Kallis's inclusion comes as no surprise given the former allrounder's record against Pakistan sides featuring Younis.

The South African right-hander struck six centuries in 13 Tests the pair played in, while also claiming the Pakistani's wicket on four occasions.

Misbah, Younis get fairytale farewell

Younis bowed out of international cricket in fairy-tale fashion earlier this month, as Pakistan sealed their first ever Test series victory in the Caribbean with a wicket in the final over of the deciding match in Dominica.

Earlier in the series, the 39-year-old became the first Pakistani to pass the 10,000-run mark in Tests and just the 13th player in history to do so.

Younis Khan's all-time Test XI:

1. Hanif Mohammad

2. Sachin Tendulkar

3. Jacques Kallis

4. Brian Lara

5. Viv Richards

6. Garfield Sobers

7. Adam Gilchrist (wk)

8. Imran Khan (c)

9. Richard Hadlee

10. Muttiah Muralidaran

11. Glenn McGrath

Ashes tickets are on sale now