Australian men’s squad for the Qantas T20 Tour of India

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has named the following 15-player men’s squad for the Qantas T20 Tour of India in November/December.

Australia plays five T20 Internationals against India following the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

Australian men’s squad for the Qantas T20 Tour of India:

 Matthew Wade (Hobart Hurricanes / Clarence Cricket Club) (c)

Jason Behrendorff (Perth Scorchers / Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club)

Sean Abbott (Sydney Sixers / Parramatta District Cricket Club)

Tim David (Hobart Hurricanes / Claremont-Nedlands Cricket Club)

Nathan Ellis (Hobart Hurricanes / Lindisfarne Cricket Club)

Travis Head (Adelaide Strikers / Tea Tree Gully Cricket Club)

Josh Inglis (Perth Scorchers / Joondalup Cricket Club) 

Spencer Johnson (Brisbane Heat / West Torrens Cricket Club)

Glenn Maxwell (Melbourne Stars / Fitzroy Doncaster Cricket Club)

Tanveer Sangha (Sydney Thunder / Campbelltown Camden District Cricket Club)

Matt Short (Adelaide Strikers / Northcote Cricket Club)

Steve Smith (NSW / Sutherland Cricket Club) 

Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars / Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club) 

David Warner (Sydney Thunder / Randwick Petersham Cricket Club) 

Adam Zampa (Melbourne Renegades / Sutherland Cricket Club)

Matthew Wade will captain the side for the series. David Warner and Steve Smith join the squad having missed the South African series. Ashton Agar was not considered due to injury.

Multi-format all-rounders Cameron Green and Mitchell Marsh will return home following the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup along with fast bowlers Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood to prepare for the Test summer, which starts in Perth eleven days after the final T20 match in India.

Chair of Selectors, George Bailey said:

“It’s an experienced squad with a mixture of players who have had their first opportunity on the international stage and that we hope will continue to develop into important players in our T20 group.

“Matthew has captained the team previously, is a leader in the group and we look forward to him taking the reins for this series. Like Mitch Marsh in the South Africa series, this is another great opportunity to further deepen our international leadership experience and depth.

“It’s always a great challenge to take on India on their home soil. Most of the squad have extensive experience in playing in India, including eight members of the current ODI World Cup squad, alongside Tanveer Sangha who is currently a travelling reserve.”