Strikers, Stars confirm BBL|13 replacements for Rashid, Brook

Fast bowler David Payne joins the Strikers after being part of Perth Scorchers’ title-winning side last season

Fast bowler David Payne has replaced star spinner Rashid Khan on the Adelaide Strikers list for the upcoming KFC BBL season.

The English quick, who played a key role in Perth Scorcher's title-winning run in BBL|12, will join countrymen Jamie Overton and Adam Hose on the club's list.

Payne has been signed as a replacement overseas player after club legend and international star Rashid withdrew from the upcoming season due to a back injury that saw him have surgery.

The decision to replace Rashid with a fast bowler leaves veteran Cameron Boyce as the Strikers' No.1 spin option in BBL|13, with help likely to come from off-spinner Ben Manenti and batting allrounders Matt Short and D'Arcy Short.

In a Strikers fast bowling group that includes the likes of Wes Agar, Henry Thornton, Brendan Doggett and Overton, Payne will hope to make an irresistible case for selection as he did in the west last season.

After replacing fellow English left-arm quick Tymal Mills in the Scorchers squad, the 32-year-old made a significant impact in the back-half of the season, taking 10 wickets in six games.

His purple patch included a spell of 3-33 in the Qualifier final against the Sydney Sixers, which featured the prized wicket of an in-form Steve Smith with a diving return catch.

Payne gets horizontal to claim massive wicket of Smith

Just eight days prior, he took a match-winning 3-20 to be named player of the match against the Strikers at Adelaide Oval.

"We are thrilled to have David join our squad for the upcoming BBL season," Strikers coach Jason Gillespie said.

"He is a proven performer at the highest level and will bring a wealth of experience to our team. His wicket-taking ability, skills in the field and positivity around the group will all be invaluable to our outfit."

Plying his trade at county level for Gloucestershire and for Welsh Fire in the UK Hundred competition, Payne has significant T20 experience.

His 14-year professional career includes over 150 matches in the shortest format, while in 2022 he made his England debut in an ODI against the Netherlands, which remains his sole cap to date.

Payne said the prospect of playing in front of home fans at Adelaide Oval was exciting.

"New Year's Eve in particular is a game with an awesome reputation and I know that is going to be a really special night to be a part of," he said.

"I have heard nothing but great things about the Strikers and am excited to get amongst the group and hopefully building a successful season as a team."

Adelaide Strikers BBL|13 squad (so far): Wes Agar, James Bazley, Cameron Boyce, Alex Carey, Brendan Doggett, Travis Head, Adam Hose (England), Henry Hunt, Thomas Kelly, Chris Lynn, Ben Manenti, Harry Nielsen, Jamie Overton (England), David Payne (England), D'Arcy Short, Matt Short, Henry Thornton, Jake Weatherald

Melbourne Stars, meanwhile, have signed English left-arm finger spinner Liam Dawson for the first three matches following the withdrawal of their top BBL|13 Draft pick Harry Brook.

Brook – selected second after the Stars tried to poach Rashid with their first pick before he was retained by the Adelaide Strikers – withdrew from this summer's Big Bash earlier this month due to his increased international workload.

The Stars are also confident their second draft pick, Pakistan's Haris Rauf, will be available for the season opener against Brisbane Heat on December 7 despite reports out of the subcontinent nation his 'No Objection Certificate' from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) could be delayed after he made himself unavailable for their three-Test tour of Australia.

Every BBL wicket Haris Rauf has claimed at the MCG

Pakistan's National T20 Cup runs until December 10 and authorities could force Rauf to play in that entire tournament given chief selector Wahab Riaz was unhappy with Rauf ruling himself out of the Test tour following a string of injuries to their pace stocks.

When contacted by AAP, the Stars said they were "still expecting him (Rauf) to join us for the opening game until we hear otherwise".

Rauf is expected to spearhead the Stars' attack this season following Adam Zampa's trade to crosstown rivals the Melbourne Renegades, with captain Glenn Maxwell, Dawson and fellow Pakistan international Usama Mir the remaining spin options.

"Liam was a targeted selection after we knew Harry Brook wouldn't be available for the first three matches," general manager Blair Crouch said.

"He will add a lot of quality to our spin bowling stocks and we're looking forward to seeing what he can produce in the opening stages of the tournament."

The Stars are expected to confirm another overseas signing later this week to replace Dawson for the remainder of the tournament following his three appearances.

Melbourne Stars BBL|13 squad (so far): Scott Boland, Joe Burns, Hilton Cartwright, Brody Couch, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Liam Dawson (England), Sam Harper, Campbell Kellaway, Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell, Usama Mir (Pakistan), Joel Paris, Haris Rauf (Pakistan), Tom Rogers, Mark Steketee, Marcus Stoinis, Beau Webster

BKT Big Bash Tipping is back! Be in the running for some epic prizes, or go for bragging rights with family and friends. Register now