Gardner and Marsh claim top honours at 2024 Australian Cricket Awards

•    Ashleigh Gardner and Mitchell Marsh win Belinda Clark Award and Allan Border Medal 
•    Ellyse Perry named Women’s ODI and T20I Player of the Year 
•    Nathan Lyon wins Shane Warne Men’s Test Player of the Year, while Marsh is the Men’s ODI Player of the Year and Jason Behrendorff wins the Men’s T20I award  
•    Matthew Short wins the KFC BBL|13 Player of the Tournament, while Chamari Athapaththu was named Weber WBBL|09 Player of the Tournament


Ashleigh Gardner and Mitchell Marsh have taken top honours at the Australian Cricket Awards in Melbourne tonight winning the prestigious Belinda Clark Award and Allan Border Medal respectively. 

At a ceremony which celebrated a remarkable year of achievement for Australian cricket, Gardner added a second Belinda Clark Award to the honour she first won in 2022 and Marsh won his first Allan Border Medal. 

Gardner was again outstanding in all formats throughout a season in which the Australian Women continued their dominance on the international stage winning the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa, retaining the Women’s Ashes and winning ODI and T20I series in India. 

A member of both the ICC ODI and T20I Teams of the Year, Gardner was also outstanding in the Australian Women’s two Test matches. Her remarkable 12 wicket haul against England at Trent Bridge, including match-winning figures of 8-66 in the second innings, was one of the highlights of the cricket year.    

Across all formats, Gardner scored 499 runs at 24.94 with a top score of 65 and took 56 wickets at 19.39 with best figures of 8-66. 

In the Belinda Clark Award, Gardner polled 147 votes ahead of runner-up Ellyse Perry (134) with Annabel Sutherland (106) in third place. 
Perry’s enormous contribution to her team’s success was rewarded with both the Women’s ODI Player of the Year and T20I Player of the Year awards.  

In ODIs Perry scored 466 runs at 66.57 with a top score of 91. In T20Is she scored 390 runs at 43.33 with a top score of 70 and took six wickets at 9.5 with best figures of 2-3.  

Gardner’s significant off-field contribution was also acknowledged with the Community Impact Award. Gardner established the Ashleigh Gardner Foundation (AGF) in 2021 intending to create a healthy start to the school day for Indigenous children believing providing breakfast and unstructured play enhances educational outcomes. 

Marsh’s first Allan Border Medal capped a wonderful year in which the experienced West Australian’s attacking batting was again a feature of the Australian Men's successful short-form campaigns and saw him recapture a place in the heart of the Test batting order. 

Across all formats, Marsh scored 1638 runs at an average of 58.5 with a top score of 177* at a remarkable strike rate of 96 as the Australian Men won a first World Test Championship, retained the Ashes and won a sixth ICC Men’s ODI World Cup. 

In the Allan Border Medal, Marsh polled 223 votes with Pat Cummins (144 votes) and Steve Smith (141 votes) in second and third place. 
Nathan Lyon won the Shane Warne Men’s Test Player of the Year Award in the same year in which he joined Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath as the only Australian bowlers to take 500 Test wickets. 

Lyon took 49 Test wickets at 23.73 with a best return of 8-64 in the victory over India at Indore and scored 131 runs at 10.8. 

Mitchell Marsh won the Men’s ODI Player of the Year Award after a year of stellar performances by members of the World Cup-winning Men’s ODI team. 

Marsh scored 858 runs at 47.67 at a strike rate of 113.94 with a memorable top score of 177* against Bangladesh in the ODI World Cup game in Pune. 
Jason Behrendorff took out the Men’s T20 International Player of the Year after his successful return to the Australian Men's Team on the tours of South Africa and India. 

Behrendorff took eight wickets at 16.5 with a miserly economy rate of 6.6 runs per-over, including a match-winning spell of 1-12 from his four overs in India’s total of 3-223 in the third T20I in Guwahati. 
Australia’s top domestic cricketers were also acknowledged with West Australia’s Cameron Bancroft taking out the Men’s and Sophie Day and Elyse Villani sharing the Women’s Domestic Player of the Year Awards, which includes matches in all formats. 
Adelaide Strikers’ Matthew Short won the KFC BBL|13 Player of the Tournament for a second consecutive season, while Sri Lankan star Chamari Athapaththu of the Sydney Thunder won the Weber WBBL|09 Player of the Tournament. 

Short finished an incredible regular season as the competition’s leading run-scorer with 509 at 72.71 at a strike rate of 153.78 with six fifties and took six wickets.

Sydney Thunder all-rounder Athapaththu was awarded the Weber WBBL’s top honour earlier in the season having dominated WBBL|09 with the bat.

In her fifth season in the WBBL and first with the Thunder, Athapaththu made 511 runs at 42.58 - second on the regular season run-scoring list - and took nine wickets with an economy rate of 6.79.

Taj Bower from Perth was named Woolworths Cricket Blaster of the Year which celebrates the spirt of the game, teamwork and the joy of playing in Australian Cricket’s entry-level programme. Taj was nominated for the amazing encouragement he showed his teammates and his passion for the game. 


Belinda Clark Award – Ashleigh Gardner (147 votes) 
2nd: Ellyse Perry (134 votes) 
3rd: Annabel Sutherland (106) 
Allan Border Medal – Mitchell Marsh (223 votes) 
Pat Cummins (144 votes)
Steven Smith (141 votes)
Women’s ODI Player of the Year – Ellyse Perry 
Women’s T20I Player of the Year – Ellyse Perry
Shane Warne Men’s Test Player of the Year – Nathan Lyon 
Men’s ODI Player of the Year – Mitchell Marsh
Men’s T20I Player of the Year – Jason Behrendorff 
Weber WBBL | 09 Player of the Tournament – Chamari Athapaththu 
KFC BBL | 13 Player of the Tournament – Matthew Short 
Women’s Domestic Player of the Year – Sophie Day, Elyse Villani (tied).
Men’s Domestic Player of the Year – Cameron Bancroft 
Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year – Emma De Broughe
Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year – Fergus O’Neill 
Community Impact Award – Ashleigh Gardner 
Woolworths Cricket Blaster of the Year – Taj Bower
Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inductees – Michael Hussey and Lyn Larsen 
The awards for international cricket are based on votes from players, umpires and the media on a 3-2-1 basis from each match.  
For the domestic awards, the votes are collected from players.  
To be eligible for the Young Cricketer of the Year awards, players must be 24 years or less prior to the commencement of the award period and have not won the award previously.  
Prior to the award period, male players must have played 10 or less first-class matches and 25 or less combined List A and BBL matches and female players 25 or less matches.