Match Report:


Vlaeminck stars as Australia secure T20I series sweep

Tayla Vlaeminck's impressive return to the international stage continued as the Australian bowlers enjoyed a day out in Dhaka

Australia have crushed Bangladesh in the third and final T20I in Dhaka, completing an undefeated maiden bilateral tour of the Asian nation with a 77-run win.

Batting first in conditions that appeared more challenging than the first two T20Is, Alyssa Healy (45 from 29) and Tahlia McGrath (44no from 29) helped steer Australia to 6-155 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Tayla Vlaeminck then continued her impressive return to international cricket, with the express quick capturing 3-12 from four overs as the Australian attack dismantled the hosts for 78 in 18.1 overs.

Tahlia McGrath produced her best innings of the tour // Getty

The emphatic win sealed a 3-0 T20I series win for Australia, but just as important as the scoreline was the chance they had over six white-ball games to scout the local conditions ahead of the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh in September and October.

Healy had her sights set on a total of 180 when she elected to bat first, with Australia returning to their regular opening pairing after experimenting in the second T20I.

Beth Mooney was tied down early before being stumped for 10 off 13 balls, before a triple strike from left-arm spinner Nahida Akter removed Healy, Ellyse Perry (8 from 11) and Ashleigh Gardner (16 from 21) to leave Australia 4-86.

Georgia Wareham, batting at No.6, could not replicate her explosive batting display from Tuesday’s game, stumped for four.

Georgia Wareham took two wickets // Getty

But the tide turned back in Australia’s favour when Grace Harris joined McGrath to put on 57 runs from the final 4.3 overs.

The pair took 19 runs from the 18th over, with McGrath clearing the boundary twice, then scored 14 off each of the final two overs to give the tourists the momentum going into the innings break.  

At the toss, Bangladesh captain Nigar Sultana Joty had been optimistic her side could chase a target around 150, but it proved well out of reach against the Australian attack.

Megan Schutt (1-13) struck the first blow when she had Murshida Khan caught by Perry in the first over of Bangladesh’s chase.

Australia's bowlers had a day out // Getty

Vlaeminck then removed first drop Mst Ritu Moni and Perry had the aggressive Shorna Akter chipping a simple catch to Sophie Molineux to leave the hosts 3-19 inside the powerplay.

Things did not improve for Bangladesh from there, with Vlaeminck picking up a further two wickets when brought back on after the drinks break, while spinners Gardner, Wareham and Molineux picked up a wicket apiece to leave the Tigresses 9-58.

Joty provided resistance for the hosts, top-scoring with a 31-ball 32 to prolong the game, before Wareham cleaned her up with the first ball of the penultimate over.

Australia will fly home late on Thursday evening, bringing to a close a packed six months that started against the West Indies in September.

Australia XI: Alyssa Healy (c) (wk), Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Tahlia McGrath, Ashleigh Gardner, Georgia Wareham, Grace Harris, Annabel Sutherland, Sophie Molineux, Megan Schutt, Tayla Vlaeminck


Bangladesh XI: Nigar Sultana Joty (c) (wk), Nahida Akter, Dilara Akter, Murshida Khatun, Mst Ritu Moni, Shorna Akter, Rabeya Khan, Fahima Khatun, Marufa Akter, Shorifa Khatun, Fariha Islam Trisna

CommBank Tour of Bangladesh

First ODI: Australia won by 118 runs

Second ODI: Australia won by six wickets

Third ODI: Australia won by eight wickets

First T20I: Australia won by 10 wickets

Second T20I: Australia won by 58 runs

Third T20I: Australia won by 77 runs

Australia squad: Alyssa Healy (c), Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Grace Harris, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath (vc), Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, Tayla Vlaeminck

Bangladesh squad: Nigar Sultana (c), Nahida Akter (vc), Fargana Hoque, Murshida Khatun, Sobhana Mostary, Shorna Akter, Ritu Moni, Sultana Khatun, Fahima Khatun, Marufa Akter, Disha Biswas, Sumaiya Akter, Nishita Akter Nishi, Farzana Akter, Rabeya Khan