Hinkley, King help seal Stars series win

Mikayla Hinkley dominated with the bat before another star turn from Alana King helped the Shooting Stars survive a close call in Sri Lanka

The Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars have continued their unbeaten run in Colombo, notching an eight-run victory against Sri Lanka’s emerging cricketers in their Twenty20 clash on Saturday.

After electing to bat first, opener Mikayla Hinkley took control with the bat and anchored the visitor’s innings with an unbeaten 80 that included six fours and three sixes.

Heather Graham (16) and Tess Cooper (14) were the next best as Oshadhi Ranasinghe (2-33) and Ama Kanchana (2-11) made the going tough, restricting Australia to 7-139.

Australia made early inroads as they set out to defend their total, with Piepa Cleary (1-28) removing Anushka Sanjeewani (2) but starts from Yashodha Mendis (33), Prasadhini Weerakkodi (25) and Ranasinghe (22 not out) put Sri Lanka in sight of victory.

However, the introduction of in-form leg-spinner Alana King (4-20) doused any hopes of a Sri Lankan triumph, as the young tweaker claimed the last four wickets of the game, the home side falling painfully short of their first win of the tour. 

Australia will be eyeing a clean sweep of the island nation when they take the field in the third and final T20 in Colombo on Monday. 

Shooting Stars squad: Jemma Barsby (Qld/Heat), Maitlan Brown (ACT/Renegades), Piepa Cleary (WA/Scorchers), Tess Cooper (Qld/Heat), Heather Graham (WA/Scorchers), Mikayla Hinkley (NSW/Thunder) (pending fitness), Alana King (Vic/Stars), Tahlia McGrath (SA/Strikers), Georgia Redmayne (Tas/Hurricanes), Lauren Smith (NSW/Sixers), Rachel Trenaman (NSW), Belinda Vakarewa (NSW/Thunder), Georgia Wareham (Vic/Renegades)

Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars v Sri Lanka schedule

30 March: First ODI, Moors, Colombo - Australia won by seven wickets

1 April: Second ODI, Moors, Colombo - Australia won by 100 runs

3 April: Third ODI, FTZ Katunayake, Colombo - Australia won by 112 runs

6 April: First T20, Bloomfield, Colombo - Australia won by eight wickets

8 April: Second T20, FTZ Katunayake, Colombo - Australia won by eight runs

10 April: Third T20, FTZ Katunayake, Colombo

Join the Australian Cricket Family