ICC Champions Trophy 2017

ICC Champions Trophy: Day 10 wrap

All the news, highlights and stuff you may have missed from another day's action at this ICC ODI event

Sam Ferris

11 June 2017, 04:28 AM AEST

Super Stokes sinks Australia's campaign

The points that matter

- Australia’s 40-run DLS loss eliminated them from the Champions Trophy. It’s the second tournament in row the two-time champions have failed to progress from the group stage.

- Australia’s loss means Bangladesh advance to the semi-finals for the first time alongside the undefeated England.

- Ben Stokes is the best player in the world right now. The allrounder bashed out a breathtaking unbeaten 102 from 109 balls with 13 fours and two sixes. He was so good Shane Warne said it looked like he was having a net out in the middle.

- India and South Africa square off at The Oval on Sunday where the loser will be knocked out.

- Whichever way the result goes, three of the four 2015 World Cup semi-finalists will not feature in the final four of this competition.

The tweet of the day

This man doesn’t tweet out praise to opposition players very often, so when he does it must be pretty special. Spoiler: It was!

The pic of the day

Adam Zampa was left mystified as to how to remove Ben Stokes or Eoin Morgan.

Thoughts? // Getty
Thoughts? // Getty

Pic of the day (II)

“Finchy, you’re going home,” was a popular chant directed toward Australia’s opening batsman during England’s innings

Finch made some new friends // Getty
Finch made some new friends // Getty

The stat of the day

Australia have not won a Champions Trophy match since their 2009 final victory in South Africa against New Zealand. While it’s only six matches, and three were washed out, it’s shocking to think the last time Australia won a Champions Trophy match Ricky Ponting was the captain, Tim Paine was the wicketkeeper, Nathan Hauritz was the specialist spinner and Peter Siddle opened the bowling!

Seriously, those jackets ... // Getty
Seriously, those jackets ... // Getty

What’s up next?

With Group A sorted, attention now turns to Group B. The final two matches of the group stage are effectively quarter-finals. The No.1-ranked team in the world South Africa face defending champions India at The Oval before giant-killers Sri Lanka and Pakistan meet on Monday in Cardiff. 

Champions Trophy 2017 Guide

Squads: Every Champions Trophy nation


1 JuneEngland beat Bangladesh by eight wickets

2 JuneNew Zealand v Australia, No Result

3 JuneSri Lanka lost to South Africa by 96 runs

4 June – India beat Pakistan by 124 runs

5 JuneAustralia v Bangladesh, No Result

6 JuneEngland beat New Zealand by 87 runs

7 JunePakistan beat South Africa by 19 runs (DLS method)

8 June Sri Lanka beat India by seven wickets

9 June  Bangladesh beat New Zealand by five wickets

10 June England beat Australia by 40 runs (DLS method)

11 JuneIndia v South Africa, The Oval (D)

12 JuneSri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (D)

14 JuneFirst semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (D)

15 JuneSecond semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (D)

18 JuneFinal, The Oval (D)

19 June – Reserve day (D)