England name Women's Ashes squad

Teenage spinner Sophie Ecclestone named in England's squad for the Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes

England have named their 15-player squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes, handing a recall to uncontracted teenage spinner Sophie Ecclestone.

The touring party features 14 members of England's successful Women's World Cup squad, with Beth Langston the sole player to miss out on a berth for the multi-format series in Australia, which will see the Ashes rivals meet in three ODIs, a day-night Test and three T20Is.

England's Women's Ashes squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Jenny Gunn, Alex Hartley, Danielle Hazell, Laura Marsh, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Nat Sciver, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Danielle Wyatt

Left-arm orthodox spinner Ecclestone, who had played two ODIs and two T20Is, was not part of England's successful World Cup campaign on home soil, but the 18-year-old impressed enough during the domestic summer and in a recent pink-ball trial match to claim her spot in the Ashes squad and 

Fellow left-arm spinner Alex Hartley claimed two wickets and troubled the Southern Stars batters during their group stage match in Bristol, and England will be hoping Ecclestone can perform a similar role during the Ashes.

Get your tickets for the Ashes!

"It's a hugely exciting tour and one we are really looking forward to," Coach Mark Robinson said. "Australia on their home soil will be a further test of the progress we have made.

"We said before the World Cup that the final at Lord's was never going to be our destination, it was just part of the journey, and that journey continues with this tour.

"Sophie Ecclestone has finished school now and has had a great summer domestically. Her selection will provide another option to our attack."

What is the Women's Ashes?

Captain Heather Knight said England would need to be at their best across all three formats to reclaim the Ashes in Australia.

“Ashes tours don’t come around all too often so it’s always a special opportunity," Knight said.

“Winning the World Cup was a dream come true but it doesn’t get much bigger than the Ashes.

"We weren’t able to win in 2015 so I know that the whole group will be intent on regaining the trophy this time round.”

Aussie Women on the importance of the Baggy Green

Australia unveiled their Ashes acting captain last week, with Rachael Haynes to fill in for the injured Meg Lanning, but the remainder of their squad is unlikely to be named until after the opening round of the Women's National Cricket League in early October.

The Ashes begin at Brisbane's AB Field on October 22.

Australia will be defending the trophy they reclaimed from England in 2015, with two points on offer for each ODI and T20 win, and four points for the Test.  

Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes


First ODI Allan Border Field, October 22

Brisbane Charity Partner: Lord Mayor's Charitable Trust

Second ODI Coffs International Stadium, October 26

Third ODI Coffs International Stadium, October 29

Coffs Junior Cricket Association Partners: Coffs Harbour District JCA, Nambucca Bellingen JCA, and Clarence River JCA

Day-Night Test North Sydney Oval, November 9-12

First T20 North Sydney Oval, November 17

North Sydney Charity Partner: McGrath Foundation

Second T20 Manuka Oval, November 19

Third T20 Manuka Oval, November 21

Canberra Charity Partner: Lord's Taverners ACT