World Cup

ICC raises prize pool for World Cup

More than $AU10 million on offer to World Cup teams


11 November 2014, 10:25 AM

The winner of next year’s ICC Cricket World Cup will pocket at least $US3.975 million ($AU4.3 million) in prize money, after the International Cricket Council announced a 20 per cent increase in the total prize pool for the tournament.

The reward for the winners will rise to $US4 million if the team remains unbeaten through the entire tournament.

"A total of $US10 million, an increase of approximately 20 per cent over the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, will be available," the ICC said.

The 2011 edition jointly hosted by India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka had prize money of $US8.01 million.

The team which loses the March 29 final at the MCG in Melbourne will pocket $1.75 million while the two losing semi-finalists will each get $600,000 each.

The four losing quarter-finalists will each receive $300,000 and the winners of each group match will be given $45,000 per match, the ICC said.

All six teams eliminated from the first stage will get $35,000 each.

The decision was made at a two-day ICC Board meeting in Dubai while playing conditions were also finalised for the 11th edition of the World Cup, which will be held in Australia and New Zealand from February 14 to March 29.

The ICC announced the Decision Review System (DRS) would be used in all 49 matches and there would only be reserve days in the knock-out phase.

There will also be no super over in tied matches in the knock-out phase and in the case of a tied quarter-final or semi-final, the side finishing in the higher position in the group stage will progress.

If the final is tied or if the match is a no-result, the teams will be declared joint winners.

The ICC Board also approved cut-off dates for qualification to the 2017 Champions Trophy and the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

The top eight sides on the ICC one-day rankings on September 30 2015 will qualify for the 2017 Champions Trophy in England, while the cut-off date for the 10-team 2019 World Cup, also in England, is September 30 2017.

The top eight ranked sides on that date will automatically qualify for the World Cup, while the ninth and 10th ranked teams will play in the World Cup qualifying competition in Bangladesh in 2018.

ODI rankings as of November 11

Tickets please