ICC updates ODI player rankings

Warner closes gap on Kohli but Hazlewood loses top spot in latest ODI rankings reshuffle following India series

Virat Kohli may have lifted the trophy in India's 4-1 ODI series win against Australia but his hold on the world No.1 batsman ranking is on shaky ground after David Warner closed the gap.

Warner finished the series strongly, having scored a century in Bengaluru and backing that up with a fifty in Nagpur, that took him to 865 points in the ICC's official men's ODI rankings.

Warner more than halved the gap to Kohli throughout the series, and now trails by just 12 points after the Aussie opener scored 245 runs at 49 with a strike rate of more than 93. Kohli scored 180 runs at 36 with a strike rate of 81 in the five matches.

Warner celebrates 100th ODI with a century

Rohit Sharma's run-scoring spree, including the 125 he hit in the final match in Nagpur, saw him finish as the series' most prolific batsman with 296 runs, and saw him leap four places to fifth in the ODI world rankings.

Aaron Finch, with 250 runs at 83.33 in the series, moved up nine spots to be now ranked 17th while Marcus Stoinis shot up 74 spots to hold the 54th spot.

Josh Hazlewood's side strain that kept him out of the Qantas Tour of India cost him the world No.1 bowler ranking, with the 'Bendemeer Bullet' slipping 18 points to fall behind South Africa's Imran Tahir.

Nathan Coulter-Nile charged up the charts 49 spots to a career-best 44th spot while Pat Cummins moved up seven spots to be ranked 21.

India left-arm spinner Axar Patel reached a career best seventh position after moving up three places while wrist spinners Yuzvendra Chahal (up 24 places to 75th) and Kuldeep Yadav (up nine places to 80th) also moved up.

Top 10 ODI batsmen

  1. Virat Kohli IND 877 points
  2. David Warner AUS 865
  3. AB de Villiers SA 847
  4. Joe Root ENG 802
  5. Rohit Sharma IND 790
  6. Babar Azam PAK 786
  7. Kane Williamson NZ 779
  8. Quinton de Kock SA 768
  9. Faf du Plessis SA 768
  10. Martin Guptill NZ 749

Top 10 ODI bowlers

  1. Imran Tahir SA 718
  2. Josh Hazlewood AUS 714
  3. Kagiso Rabada SA 685
  4. Mitchell Starc AUS 684
  5. Jasprit Bumrah IND 671
  6. Trent Boult NZ 665
  7. Axar Patel IND 663
  8. Hasan Ali PAK 663
  9. Rashid Khan AFG 647
  10. Sunil Narine WI 646

Australia's Qantas Tour of India

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Australia T20 squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

ODI Fixtures

September 17: India won by 26 runs (DLS Method)

September 21: India won by 50 runs

September 24: India won by five wickets

September 28: Australia won by 21 runs

October 1: India won by seven wickets

T20 Fixtures

October 7: JSCA International Stadium, Ranchi

October 10: Barsapara Stadium, Guwahati

October 13: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad