Gillette ODI Series 2018

Latest ICC ODI and T20 rankings revealed

Plenty of movement at the top in the latest updates to the ICC ODI and T20I rankings

Cricket Network

29 January 2018, 08:27 PM AEST

The latest update to the International Cricket Council’s ODI and T20I rankings has seen four players elevated to No.1 in their respective disciplines, while several Australia players have climbed the ranks following the one-dayers against England.

Pakistan batsman Babar Azam and New Zealand bowler Mitchell Santner now top the ICC rankings T20I batsmen and bowlers respectively, following the conclusion of the T20 series between the two nations which Pakistan won 2-1.

Babar was rewarded for finishing as the leading run-scorer in the series, with 109 runs at 54.5, jumping up 11 places to top the batting charts for the first time.

He leads Australia’s Aaron Finch by two points, while Black Cap Colin Munro – who had been No.1 – has dropped to fourth after playing just two matches before missing the third due to injury.

Munro has been named in the New Zealand T20I squad for the tri-series against Australia and England which begins in Sydney on Saturday.

Santer, who took figures of 2-15, 0-30 and 2-24, displaced New Zealand teammate Ish Sodhi as the top-ranked bowler. 

Match Highlights: England complete 4-1 win

The left-arm spinner leads Afghanistan’s number-two ranked spinner Rashid Khan by one point.

In the ODI charts, South Africa spinner Imran Tahir has returned to the top of the bowling rankings after Pakistan Hasan Ali, who had been ranked No.1 in the last update on December 26, dropped down to fifth.

Ali took six wickets in four ODIs against New Zealand, in a five-match series the hosts won 5-0.

Tahir hasn’t played an ODI since October last year, but has been named in the Proteas’ squad to take on India in a six-match OPDI series beginning in Durban on February 1.

In the allrounder rankings, Shakib Al Hasan returned to No.1 after scoring 163 runs and taking nine wickets in Bangladesh's tri-series against Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, David Warner has remained Australia’s highest-ranked ODI batsman following the 4-1 Gillette ODI Series defeat to England, keeping his hold on the No.3 spot – behind Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers – despite scoring 73 runs at 14.60 across the series.

Aaron Finch has climbed two spots to No.15 after scoring two centuries and 62 in three matches against England, while Joe Root also benefited from his player-of-the-series performance, rising one spot to sixth.

Steve Smith dropped four places to 17th after failing to continue his remarkable feats from the Magellan Ashes series in the 50-over format.

With the ball, Josh Hazlewood climbed one spot to fourth, having collected five wickets in his three ODI appearances in the series, while Pat Cummins rose five places to No.14 after taking seven wickets in three matches including a career-best 4-24 in Adelaide.

ICC ODI Batting Rankings

  1. Virat Kohli (India) - 876 points
  2. AB de Villiers (SA) - 872
  3. David Warner (Australia) - 823
  4. Rohit Sharma (India) - 816
  5. Babar Azam (Pakistan) - 813
  6. Quinton de Kock (SA) - 808
  7. Joe Root (England) - 808
  8. Kane Williamson (NZ) - 777
  9. Faf du Plessis (SA) - 773
  10. Hashim Amla (SA) - 766

ICC ODI Bowling Rankings

  1. Imran Tahir (SA) - 743
  2. Trent Boult (NZ) - 729
  3. Jasprit Bumrah (India) - 728
  4. Josh Hazlewood (Australia) - 714
  5. Hasan Ali (Pakistan) - 711
  6. Kagiso Rabada (SA) - 708
  7. Mitchell Santner (NZ) - 662
  8. Mitchell Starc (Australia) - 658
  9. Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) - 649
  10. Akshar Patel (India) - 643

ICC ODI Allrounder Rankings 

  1. Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) - 359
  2. Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan) - 339
  3. Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan) - 316
  4. Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka) - 306
  5. Chris Woakes (England) - 301

ICC T20I Batting Rankings

  1. Babar Azam (Pakistan) - 786
  2. Aaron Finch (Australia) - 784
  3. Virat Kohli (India) - 776
  4. Colin Munro (NZ) - 773
  5. Evin Lewis (WI) - 734
  6. KL Rahul (India) - 726
  7. Glenn Maxwell (Australia) - 700 
  8. Alex Hales (England) - 690
  9. Joe Root (England) - 683
  10. Hashim Amla (SA) - 683

ICC T20I Bowling Rankings

  1. Mitchel Santner (NZ) - 718
  2. Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) - 717
  3. Ish Sodhi (NZ) - 712
  4. Jasprit Bumrah (India) - 702
  5. Samuel Badree (WI) - 691
  6. Imran Tahir (SA) - 691
  7. Imad Wasim (Pakistan) - 677
  8. Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh) - 667
  9. James Faulkner (Australia) - 661
  10. Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) - 661

ICC T20I Allrounder Rankings 

  1. Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) - 353
  2. Glenn Maxwell  (Australia) - 330
  3. Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan) - 275
  4. Marlon Samuels (West Indies) - 239
  5. JP Duminy (SA) - 213

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

Australia squad: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler. 

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Tickets

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Tickets

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Tickets

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Tickets

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21