Aussie trio make ICC Test team

Warner, Starc and Voges earn spots in the ICC's Team of 2016

David Warner, Mitchell Starc and Adam Voges have been named in the International Cricket Council's Test Team of the Year.

The Australian trio have been rewarded for their strong performances throughout the qualification period that ran from September 14, 2015 to September 20, 2016, while skipper Steve Smith just missed out on a place in the starting XI, named 12th man.

During that time, Australian vice-captain Warner plundered 1,020 runs and four centuries at 56.56 in 11 Tests, most of which was scored in his golden summer against New Zealand and West Indies in 2015-16.

Voges makes the team after scoring 1,087 runs at 90.58 during that period, including his unbeaten 269 against the Windies in Hobart.

Voges slams double against Windies

Starc played just six Tests during the qualification period due to injury, but wins a spot in the XI after taking 37 wickets at 18, including a best of 6-50 against Sri Lanka.

Warner is joined at the top of the order by England captain Alastair Cook, while New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson slots in at first-drop.

They're followed by Joe Root, Voges and wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow, with Ben Stokes filling the allrounders' spot at No.6.

While India captain Virat Kohli put England to the sword in the recent Test series in the subcontinent, during the qualification period he scored only 451 runs in eight matches at 45.10. 

Joining Starc in the bowling attack is fellow paceman Dale Steyn, and spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Rangana Herath.

Starc a shining light for Australia

It's the third consecutive year Warner has earned a place in the ICC's best Test side, while Cook has been appointed captain of the team for a third time.

Steyn earns a place for the eighth time in the last nine years. The South Africa veteran played just four Tests during the qualification period, but took 14 wickets in that time, including 5-33 against New Zealand in August.

Herath was the leading wicket-taker, with 54 scalps in 10 matches, but there was no place in the XI for England pair Stuart Broad and James Anderson, who took 50 wickets apiece. 

Meanwhile, Pakistan captian Misbah-ul-Haq has received the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award, for "inspiring his team to play the game in its true spirit" and lifting Pakistan to the top of the Test rankings for the first time.

Marais Erasmus won the David Shepherd Trophy for the ICC Umpire of the Year 2016.

ICC Test team of 2016: David Warner (Australia), Alastair Cook (England, captain), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Joe Root (England), Adam Voges (Australia), Jonny Bairstow (England), Ben Stokes (England), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Steve Smith (Australia, 12th)  

Meg Lanning Steve Smith