Aussie bid to reclaim champions tag begins

Second edition of ICC Women's Championship to get underway this week as Australia eye lost mantle

They may be still reeling from their World Cup exit earlier this year but Australia’s campaign to snatch back the mantle of world champions will get underway when their Ashes campaign kicks off this month.

The International Cricket Council have confirmed the second edition of the Women's Championship will kick off with the same eight sides as the inaugural version of the multi-year event.

Teams eye ICC Women's Championship glory

Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies will all take each other on series of three one-day internationals on a home-and-away basis between now and the 2021 World Cup.

Australia took out the previous edition of the Championship, held between 2014-16, but were defeated by India in the semi-final of this year's ODI World Cup.

New Zealand, the hosts of the 2021 World Cup, and the three other top teams from the Championship will gain direct qualification for the showpiece event.

The remaining four sides will get a second chance through the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier event, where they will be joined by six teams from four regions – Africa, Asia, East Asia Pacific and Europe. 

Member nations will be encouraged to play T20s during bilateral tours but no extra ODIs can be added onto a three-match Women's Championship series, the ICC said in a statement. 

Teams will be awarded two points for each win, one point for a tie or no-result and no points for a loss.

West Indies and Sri Lanka will play the first matches of the ICC Women's Championship in Trinidad this week, while the Ashes will be the second series counting towards the Championship.

What is the Women's Ashes?

The ICC also released results of research commissioned by the ICC on the perception of women's cricket among sports fans across numerous countries including Australia. 

The study overwhelmingly showed fans believed the standard of women's cricket is improving and that media coverage was increasing awareness, while also highlighting the popularity of women's cricket among children.

Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes


First ODI Allan Border Field, October 22

Brisbane Charity Partner: Lord Mayor's Charitable Trust

Second ODI Coffs International Stadium, October 26

Third ODI Coffs International Stadium, October 29

Coffs Junior Cricket Association Partners: Coffs Harbour District JCA, Nambucca Bellingen JCA, and Clarence River JCA

Day-Night Test North Sydney Oval, November 9-12

First T20 North Sydney Oval, November 17

North Sydney Charity Partner: McGrath Foundation

Second T20 Manuka Oval, November 19

Third T20 Manuka Oval, November 21

Canberra Charity Partner: Lord's Taverners ACT