Pakistan recall Akmal for T20 series

Controversial batsman forces way back into squad to face West Indies through sheer weight of runs in domestic competition

Pakistan selectors have recalled middle-order batsman Umar Akmal for this month's three-match Twenty20 series against the West Indies.

Akmal was dropped from the recent limited-overs series against England on disciplinary grounds but forced his way back into the national team after scoring 304 runs in five matches during the ongoing National T20 Cup with a strike rate of 202.66.

The selectors have also recalled allrounder Saad Nasim, who last played a T20 two years ago against New Zealand in the United Arab Emirates.

Pakistan will be led by Sarfraz Ahmed, who won his first T20 as captain by nine wickets on Wednesday against England in Manchester.

Wahab leads Pakistan to T20 delight

Dubai will host back-to-back T20s on September 23 and 24, and the third T20 will be on September 27 in Abu Dhabi.

Meanhile, Pakistan Test captain Misbah-ul-Haq will be presented with the ICC Test Championship mace at Lahore's Gaddafi Stadium on September 21.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson will make the presentation in a country that has not hosted Test cricket since the attack on the Sri Lanka team bus in 2009.

Pakistan reached the world No.1 Test ranking for the first time since the current system was introduced in 2003 after a 2-2 series draw in England.

Pakistan’s cause was also helped by Sri Lanka, who whitewashed the former No.1 ranked Australians 3-0, while a wet ground in Port of Spain denied India the opportunity to secure the top spot with that four-Test series against the West Indies finishing 2-0.

Pakistan is currently sitting on 111 points, one ahead of India, while Australia and England are on 108 points each. The top seven Test sides are separated by just 16 points.

Pakistan play three Tests and five one-day games against Australia this summer.

Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Saad Nasim, Rumman Raees.

Meg Lanning Steve Smith