Debutant joins 2015-16 Umpire Panel

Cricket Australia announces elite group of officials for upcoming summer

Cricket Network

19 May 2015, 02:34 PM

Australian umpire Phillip Gillespie is set to cement his position among the country’s elite umpires this summer after Cricket Australia (CA) today announced the 2015-16 National Umpire Panel to officiate in all Australian domestic matches for the upcoming season.

The umpires have been selected by CA’s Umpire High Performance Panel, with Victorian Premier umpire Gillespie joining the panel in place of Queensland’s Damien Mealey (QLD).

The 2015-16 National Umpire Panel Gerard Abood NSW     Ashley Barrow VIC         Shawn Craig VIC         Gregory Davidson NSW     Simon Fry SA (20 ODIs, 8 T20 INTLs) Phillip Gillespie VIC (debut) Michael Graham-Smith TAS       Geoffrey Joshua VIC         Michael Martell WA (3 ODIs, 2 T20 INTLs) Samuel Nogajski TAS       John Ward VIC (6 ODIs, 6 T20 INTLs) Paul Wilson NSW (3 ODIs, 2 T20 INTLs)

Gillespie, 39, has stood in 102 Victorian Premier Cricket matches, including 54 First XI matches, and is also on a development scholarship with the Australian Sports Commission for 2015.

He made his first-class debut in February this year in a match between New South Wales and Victoria in which NSW quick Doug Bollinger took a hat-trick from Gillespie’s end.

CA Match Officials Manager Sean Easey said this 12-umpire panel continues to set a high benchmark for the game’s adjudicators. 

“Our 2015-16 National Umpire Panel was selected following a series of strong performances last season, which made selection of the panel very tough,” Easey said.

“What the selection process showed was the pleasing depth of high-quality umpiring talent in Australia that contributes to making our elite domestic competitions world-class.

“Australian cricket remains a leader in producing and developing international-standard officials and we believe this group has the potential to continue Australia’s proud history of progressing umpires to international honours.

“Australia also has four umpires contracted to the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, and our 12 selected umpires for 2015-16 have a wonderful opportunity to follow in their footsteps.”

Fry, Martell, Ward and Wilson have again been nominated as CA’s International Panel umpires who are subsequently eligible to officiate in international matches as appointed by the ICC (for matches overseas) or Cricket Australia (when appropriate).

Last season the ICC appointed Fry to the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, and the Sri Lanka v England One-Day International Series at the end of 2014. Wilson made his ODI debut in November last year, while Martell made his T20 International debut.

The ICC Elite Panel of Umpires are the 12 umpires contracted to the ICC who officiate in international cricket around the world. The panel includes four Australian representatives: Steve Davis, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel and Rod Tucker.

CA’s National Umpire Panel members are selected by the Umpire High Performance Panel whose members are Steve Bernard, Daryl Harper, Peter Marshall, Bob Stratford, David Talalla and CA’s Match Officials Manager Sean Easey.