Rohit returns to India Test squad

Veteran batsman makes return to senior squad for three-match Test tour of Sri Lanka later this month

Batsman Rohit Sharma has returned to India's Test squad for the three-match series in Sri Lanka that starts this month, the country's cricket board announced Sunday.

Rohit, who was rested for the West Indies tour after an injury made him miss most of the Indian Test season, replaces Karun Nair in the 16-man squad.

While Rohit injured himself during a one-day international, the 25-year-old Nair made his mark with a Test triple century against England at Chennai in December.

Nair joins elite club with rare triple ton

Nair failed to capitalise on that epic knock, managing just 54 runs in four innings after it. Rohit, who last played a Test against New Zealand in October, however scored heavily in the 50-over Champions Trophy.

The Indian selectors played safe by retaining most of the players from the previous series against Australia in March.

Quick Single: The words that came back to haunt Rohit

India, who announced a two-day warm-up match in Colombo on July 21-22, are scheduled to play the first Test in Galle starting July 26. The next two matches will be in Colombo and Kandy respectively.

The two sides will also play a five-match ODI series and a single T20 international.

India squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.