Australia's Test tour of SA announced

Australia and South Africa to play a four-Test series for the first time since 1969-1970

Australia will tour South Africa for a four-Test series in early 2018, the first time the two countries have competed in a series comprising more than three matches since the Proteas were readmitted into international cricket.

Cricket South Africa announced the schedule tonight with the Tests to be played in Durban, Port Elizabeth, Cape Town and Johannesburg in February and March, 2018

Remarkably, the Proteas haven't won a Test series against Australia on home soil since the 1960s, but they have won the past three series in Australia, including earlier this summer.

"Since unification in 1991, this will be the first time the two countries will compete in a four-match Test series," said CSA boss Haroon Lorgat.

"This will add to the significance of the Test series and will offer us a perfect opportunity to finally win a Test series at home against the formidable Aussies.

Raw Vision: Players mingle on Adelaide Oval

"Test match cricket between Australia and South Africa has always produced epic battles and brought out high-class individual performances that have become part of the annals of the game."

It will be the first time Australia and South Africa have played a Test series comprising of more than three Tests since 1969-70.

The series at the end of the 2017-18 summer will come after the Proteas take on India earlier in the season.

"Australia are currently the No. 2 ranked team on the ICC Test table and we will need to beat them and India to regain our place at the top of the table," Lorgat said.

"With this series being played straight after the tour by India our Proteas and fans can look forward to what will be one of the most challenging seasons of Test match cricket we have ever witnessed in South Africa."

The Cricket Australia Travel Office will run an official fan tour to South Africa, register now at

Australia Tour of South Africa 2018

Feb 22-24: Tour match v SA Invitational XI, Sahara Park, Benoni

Mar 1-5: 1st Test, Kingsmead, Durban

Mar 9-13: 2nd Test, St George's Park, Port Elizabeth

Mar 22-26: 3rd Test, Newlands, Cape Town

Mar 30 - Apr 3: 4th Test, Wanderers, Johannesburg