AB De Villiers

De Villiers' 98-Test streak comes to an end

South Africa name squads for all three formats for their upcoming Bangladesh tour

South Africa have named squads for all three formats for their upcoming tour of Bangladesh, with superstar AB de Villiers to miss the two-match Test series.

De Villiers has been granted leave for the birth of his first child with wife Danielle, his absence to end a run of 98 consecutive Tests.

Photos: Shane Watson introduces Matilda Victoria

It is the fifth-longest stretch behind Allan Border (153), Alastair Cook (111), Mark Waugh (107) and Sunil Gavaskar (106).

Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander will sit out the three one-dayers, while four uncapped players have been included in the Test squad for the tour in July and August.

Opening batsman Reeza Hendricks, wicketkeeper Dane Vilas, spinner Aaron Phangiso and fast bowler Kagiso Rabada could make Test debuts during the series.

All four have previously represented the Proteas in the limited overs formats.

“The changes have been brought about partly by the retirement of Alviro Petersen and the non-availability of AB de Villiers who has been granted paternity leave,” Cricket South Africa selection convener Andrew Hudson said.

“Reeza and Stiaan van Zyl are both options to open the batting and Stiaan can also be used in AB’s batting position in the middle-order,” Hudson said.

“Dane provides us with the wicketkeeping cover that would normally also be AB’s responsibility.

“Aaron gives us a left-arm spin bowling option and we see this as the ideal opportunity to involve Kagiso in the Test team environment once again, so he will be the back-up fast bowling option.”

The Proteas’ have retained the same ODI squad from the World Cup with the exception of Steyn and Philander, who are being rested for the three-match ODI Series.

Chris Morris and Ryan McLaren come into the squad in their place.

Steyn, Morne Morkel and Imran Tahir will sit out the two-match Twenty20 series, as the Proteas look to explore bowling options ahead of next year’s ICC World Twenty20 in India.

“We need to explore our bowling options under sub-continent conditions,” Hudson said.

“Morris has done well in the IPL as have David Wiese and Beuran Hendricks and this tour represents an important opportunity to broaden their international playing experience.”

Bangladesh and South Africa will kick off the series with a Twenty20 International on July 5 in Mirpur.

Test squad: Hashim Amla, Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Faf du Plessis, Stiaan van Zyl, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel , Aaron Phangiso, Simon Harmer, Temba Bavuma, Kagiso Rabada, Dane Vilas

ODI squad: AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Chris Morris, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Wayne Parnell, Ryan McLaren

T20 squad: Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, David Miller, David Wiese, Chris Morris, Kyle Abbott, Kagiso Rabada, Aaron Phangiso, Eddie Leie, Wayne Parnell, Beuran Hendricks