Smith fined after day four incident

Australian skipper charged by International Cricket Council for his role in controversial Williamson lbw appeal

Australia captain Steve Smith has been fined 30 per cent of his match fee by the International Cricket Council for his exchange with on-field umpire Ranmore Martinesz in the second Test in Christchurch.

Smith pleaded guilty to a charge of dissent handed down by the ICC following the heated incident in the seven-wicket win at Hagley Oval, with the governing body dtermining the Australia captain broke the Code of Conduct by "showing dissent at an umpire’s decision during an international match".

The incident happened in the final over before lunch on day four when third umpire Richard Illingworth confirmed Martinesz's not out ruling to an lbw appeal against Black Caps batsman Kane Williamson.

Smith called for a review when Martinesz turned down the Australian's appeal, with Hot Spot indicating the batsman had edged the ball onto his pad.

WATCH: Smith at his inventive best on day five

Smith said he felt it was within his rights as the Australian captain to query why the third umpire had not used the Real Time Snicko technology available to him.

Following the third umpire's ruling, the stump microphone at the non-striker's end caught fast bowler Josh Hazlewood swearing when venting his frustration, while Smith was also animated, shaking his head and turning away after querying Martinesz on the decision.

WATCH: Smith notches Test ton No.14 in Christchurch

"I thought I was well within my rights to go up to the umpire and ask him why we didn't use the Real Time Snicko," Smith told reporters after play.

"I guess out on the field we couldn't really see a Hot Spot and I've been informed since then, at the (lunch) break just after the incident, that if there is a Hot Spot they don't go to Real Time Snicko. So that was basically what I was doing at the time and that's deemed to be dissent and I'll cop that on the chin.

"I need to be better as a leader; I need to set the example, and that wasn't good enough, I guess."

WATCH: Australia sweep series, claim World No.1

Prior to the ICC's announcement, Smith revealed to Optus Sport's Across the Ditch he had been fined.

"We want to play a tough, aggressive brand of cricket and we know there's a line that we shouldn't cross and Josh (Hazlewood) probably crossed that line yesterday," said Smith.

"I've also just been fined as well so that's disappointing – I'm the leader of this team. 

"For me it was about questioning the umpire and the process of what was happening. 

"They didn't use the Real Time Snicko – I thought that they should have in this instance and they didn't do that and that's what I was questioning the umpire for. 

"I've been fined and I've got to set a better example as the leader of this team."