Law fined for dissent in Dominica

Tense final day of the third Test led to the hosts' head coach questioning a close call in person

West Indies coach Stuart Law will lose a quarter of his match fee and has received a demerit point for "showing dissent at an umpire's decision" during his team's 101-run third Test defeat against Pakistan.

Law admitted the offence at close of play after his team had lost their final wicket in the penultimate over of the fifth day in Dominica, and Pakistan therefore won the series 2-1.

Quick Single: Misbah, Younis get fairytale farewell

An International Cricket Council statement explained the circumstances of the Australian's transgression, relating to the dismissal of Shane Dowrich off leg-spinner Yasir Shah.

"The incident happened during the second session's play when, following Shane Dowrich's dismissal, Law visited the third umpire's room, questioned the third umpire for confirming the on-field decision, before leaving the room while making an inappropriate comment,” the statement read.

The incident occurred in the 44th over on day five when Dowrich was given out caught at short from the inside edge of the right-hander’s bat.

Umpire Bruce Oxenford had no hesitation in giving the batsman, but in discussion with non-striker Roston Chase, Dowrich opted for a review. 

After several replays, without the aid of Hotspot or Real Time Snicko technology, the on-field decision was upheld, which led to Law questioning the outcome in person with third umpire Richard Kettleborough. 

Misbah, Younis get fairytale farewell

It isn’t the first time in recent memory a player or support staff member has paid a visit to the third umpire during a Test match.

England opener Alex Hales was fined 15 per cent of his match fee after he confronted third umpire Joel Wilson over his dismissal on day one of the fourth England-Pakistan Test at The Oval last year.

Hales was given out in controversial circumstances in England’s first innings, refusing to walk after Yasir Shah claimed a low chance at mid-wicket.

Umpire Wilson, in the absence of a close-up look at the catch, stayed with the on-field decision of out, leaving Hales fuming.

The 27-year-old muttered some choice words as he trudged off the ground and the ICC revealed he then visited the third umpire's room to further question the decision. The ICC said he "made some inappropriate comments as he was leaving the room".

Hales fumes after Yasir catch

Law was appointed Windies coach in January before taking over the reins a month later.

The 48-year-old, who played one Test and 54 ODIs for Australia, has previously coached Bangladesh and Sri Lanka at the highest level and Queensland in the Sheffield Shield.

Having failed to qualify for the Champions Trophy, the West Indies next international assignment is a limited-overs series at home next month against Afghanistan before flying to the UK to take on England in all formats.

Ashes tickets are on sale now