Victoria name new skipper for 2017-18

Leg-spinner Kristen Beams to lead the VicSpirit with Meg Lanning sidelined by injury

Australia leg-spinner Kristen Beams will lead a new-look Victoria in this year’s National Women’s Cricket League.

With regular captain Meg Lanning sidelined for up to eight months after undergoing shoulder surgery, the Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit have turned to Australian teammate Beams to lead the side in 2017-18, assisted by vice-captain Molly Strano.

She’ll be in charge of a new-look team, which has signed seven new players and bid farewell to five in addition to the absence of Lanning.

Quick single: Lanning ruled out of the Ashes, WBBL|03

Joining the Spirit is former Western Australia pace bowler Gemma Triscari, who has spent two seasons with the Melbourne Stars in the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League, as well as WBBL|02 Renegades listed players Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck and Georgia Wareham.

They’re joined by fellow newcomers Nicole Faltum, a wicketkeeper who has represented her state at all pathway levels, right-hand batter Rhiann O’Donnell and medium-pacer Chloe Rafferty, who has impressed in Premier Cricket.

What is the Women's Ashes?

Former Australian batter Jess Cameron heads the departures, alongside Emma Kearney, Kristy Lamb, Hayley Jensen (who has moved to the ACT Meteors) and the retired Sarah Elliot.

Kearney and Lamb will remain involved with Victoria as part of a 'Futures' training squad as they juggle dual-code commitments, while the pair - and Cameron - are all expected to feature in WBBL|03.

Quick single: Who will captain Australia in the Ashes?

"We wish Meg all the best in her rehabilitation from surgery and look forward to her returning to action,” Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit Head Coach David Hemp said.

"Kristen and Molly will be a terrific leadership unit this season and will make an important contribution to our success.

"We’ve had a few changes this season and we wanted to give some of our young players an opportunity to learn from experienced players.

"The new players have been performing consistently well through the pathway and we want to reward that.

"I believe this group has what it takes to compete strongly in the WNCL, and I know they’re all itching to get back on the park and win the title for Victoria."

VicSpirit squad: Kristen Beams (Australian contracted) (c), Makinley Blows, Hayleigh Brennan, Nicole Faltum, Emma Inglis, Alana King, Meg Lanning (Australian contracted), Anna Lanning, Sophie Molineux, Rhiann O’Donnell, Chloe Rafferty, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Gemma Triscari, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham

Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes Series


First ODI Allan Border Field, October 22

Brisbane Charity Partner: Lord Mayor's Charitable Trust

Second ODI Coffs International Stadium, October 26

Third ODI Coffs International Stadium, October 29

Coffs Junior Cricket Association Partners: Coffs Harbour District JCA, Nambucca Bellingen JCA, and Clarence River JCA

Day-Night Test North Sydney Oval, November 9-12

First T20 North Sydney Oval, November 17

North Sydney Charity Partner: McGrath Foundation

Second T20 Manuka Oval, November 19

Third T20 Manuka Oval, November 21

Canberra Charity Partner: Lord's Taverners ACT