Women's Ashes ODIs

Southern Stars set for historic day-night Test

Australia and England to square off in first-ever Women's Ashes clash under lights

Laura Jolly

07 March 2017, 07:00 AM

Southern Stars set for historic day-night Test

Australia and England will make history when they meet in the first ever women’s day-night Test during the 2017-18 Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes series next summer, Cricket Australia has announced.

The world No.1 ranked Southern Stars will begin their Ashes defence with a one-day international at Brisbane’s Allan Border Field on October 22, with seven stand-alone matches across the three formats to be played in Brisbane, Coffs Harbour, Sydney and Canberra.

The multi-format series, which is decided via a points system, will begin with three one-day internationals played at Brisbane’s Allan Border Field (October 22) and Coffs International Stadium (October 26 and 29).

Quick Single: Good signs for Stars' Cup defence: Lanning

From there, the action will shift to North Sydney Oval, where the standalone day-night Test will be played at North Sydney Oval from November 9-12.

The final leg of the series will see three Twenty20 Internationals played at North Sydney Oval (November 17) and Canberra’s Manuka Oval (November 19 and 21).

CA Chief Executive James Sutherland said a number of players had been involved with testing the pink ball, with feedback “overwhelmingly positive”.

Lanning leads Stars to series victory

"We’re thrilled to be hosting the inaugural women’s Day-Night Test match at North Sydney Oval,” Sutherland said.

“The venues that have been confirmed are a result of a strategic decision to give this series the opportunity to gain as much exposure as possible and continue to build women’s cricket as a mainstream sport as we look toward the World T20 in Australia in 2020, of which the final is just three years away.

“A number of players have taken part in testing of both the pink ball and North Sydney as a venue and the feedback has been overwhelmingly positive.

Raw vision: Stars celebrate Rose Bowl success

“The decision to put the number one ranked team in the world in front of the Australian public across seven stand-alone fixtures was an easy one, ensuring they remain as accessible as possible to fans and the ongoing support from Channel Nine and our other broadcast partners plays a pivotal role in making this happen.”

Ticketing and broadcast details for the series will be confirmed in the coming months.

Quick Single: Stars retain Rose Bowl after Lanning ton

Australia are the current holders of the Ashes, having defeated England 12 points to four in 2015 – their first series win on English soil since 2001 and their first since the multi-format system was introduced in 2013.

Under the multi-format points system, a total of 16 points are up for grabs, with four points are awarded for a Test victory and two points per ODI and T20I win.

"There’s lots happening in women’s sport around the country at the moment, and with many sports recognising this better than ever before, it can only see cricket and other sports go from strength to strength,” Sutherland said.

“Cricket have run a national women’s competition for more than 70 years, but we recognise we have plenty more to achieve.

“We are committed to ensuring cricket is the number one sport for both women and girls in Australia and the 2017-18 summer is another important step in our continued investment into the women’s game.”

Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes schedule

October 22: First ODI, Allan Border Field, Brisbane

October 26: Second ODI, Coffs Intl Stadium, Coffs Harbour

October 29: Third ODI, Coffs Intl Stadium, Coffs Harbour

November 9-12: Day-night Test, North Sydney Oval, Sydney

November 17: First T20I: North Sydney Oval, Sydney

November 19: First T20I: Manuka Oval, Canberra

November 21: First T20I: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Women’s Ashes points system

ODI: Win – 2 points

Test: Win – 4 points

T20: Win – 2 points