Kohli reigns supreme in record India victory

A dazzling unbeaten 166 from Virat Kohli and four wickets for Mohammed Siraj have helped power India to a record 317-run ODI win against Sri Lanka.

India have recorded the biggest-ever victory in one-day internationals after they thrashed Sri Lanka by 317 runs in the final ODI in Thiruvananthapuram as Virat Kohli put on a batting masterclass and Mohammed Siraj excelled with the ball.

The win on Sunday completed a 3-0 series sweep for India, who won the first match in Guwahati by 67 runs and the second in Kolkata by four wickets.

Kohli smashed an unbeaten 166, hitting 13 fours and eight sixes, in his 110-ball display.

It was the former captain's 46th ODI century and he is now only three short of Sachin Tendulkar's all-time record for most ODI hundreds.

"Today I was happy to be batting out there and in that space I end up playing good cricket. I am in a nice space right now, just trying to be organic," said Kohli, who was named the player of the series, having also scored a century in the first match.

Opener Shubman Gill also made a telling contribution with his own century – 116 off 97 balls – as India ended their innings at a mammoth 5-390 after opting to bat first.

Seamer Siraj then picked up 4-32 and played a role in a run-out, while Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav bagged two wickets each as India skittled Sri Lanka for just 73 inside 22 overs.

"It's disappointing. Not a game we wanted. It happens," said Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka.

"We need to learn how to manage the start. Bowlers should learn how to take wickets on these decks, and the batters should learn to score."

Biggest ODI wins (by runs)

317 - India d Sri Lanka (Thiruvananthapuram, 2023)

290 - New Zealand d Ireland (Aberdeen, 2008)

275 - Australia d Afghanistan (Perth, 2015)

272 - South Africa d Zimbabwe (Benoni, 2010)

258 - South Africa d Sri Lanka (Paarl, 2012)

Most men's ODI hundreds

49 - Sachin Tendulkar (India)

46 - Virat Kohli (India)

30 - Ricky Ponting (Australia/ICC)

29 - Rohit Sharma (India)

28 - Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka/Asia)