Aussies again in demand in the Hundred

Nine Australians who starred in last year's edition of The Hundred have been retained by their teams to compete in the 2024 edition

Adam Zampa and Spencer Johnson, who helped bowl the Oval Invincibles to victory in last year's edition of the men's Hundred, head the list of Australian stars who have been retained for the 2024 tournament.

The Australian influence in England's big-money 100-ball-a-side competition remains a dominant one with seven teams retaining a total of nine players who featured among the overseas rosters in 2023.

Paceman Johnson, now set to be an IPL millionaire, was one of the finds of last year's tournament with his sensational debut for the London-based Invincibles when he took 3-1 off his 20 balls against the Manchester Originals.

He's back, along with spin ace Zampa, even though both are also involved in the overlapping Major League Cricket season in the US with the Los Angeles Knight Riders.

Allrounder Nathan Ellis will feature for Lord's-based London Spirit and opener Matt Short for the Leeds-based Northern Superchargers, who will be coached this year by former England all-round great Andrew Flintoff.

Ellyse Perry, Grace Harris, Phoebe Litchfield and Georgia Wareham, all of whom are currently in action in the Women's Premier League in India, will join Alana King back in the women's competition.

Perry had been signed by Birmingham Phoenix as their captain last year but had to pull out of the tournament with a knee injury suffered in Australia's one-day international series against Ireland.

One noticeable absentee from the list of the 137 players retained ahead of the fourth edition of The Hundred was England paceman Mark Wood, who could opt out of the event to help manage his workload over a busy home summer.

London Spirit have, instead, decided to instead use the spot dedicated to a centrally-contracted England player on opener Zak Crawley.

Other Australians could be picked up in the draft on March 20 before the four-week event begins on July 23 with the final to be held at Lord's on August 18.





London Spirit: Nathan Ellis


Northern Superchargers: Matt Short


Oval Invincibles: Adam Zampa, Spencer Johnson




Birmingham Phoenix: Ellyse Perry


London Spirit: Grace Harris


Northern Superchargers: Phoebe Litchfield, Georgia Wareham


Trent Rockets: Alana King