Weber WBBL|10 Contracting Window open

Clubs will step up their pursuit of the Weber WBBL|10 title from today, with the Contracting Window now open for players to be traded and signed.

The countdown to the League’s milestone tenth season began this week with confirmation of an optimised 43-match (40 home and away, plus three Finals) structure that prioritises quality via enhanced player availability, scheduling, broadcast and events.

The Contracting Window begins with a Retention and Trade period, running for one week until 12:00pm AEST on Friday, May 10. During this period, Clubs may increase their squad size via:
•    Executing a new contract, or extending the current contract, of any player from their WBBL|09 squad
•    Signing a CA Contracted Player without a WBBL contract for the upcoming season
•    Executing a trade with another Club

The second contracting phase will then begin next Friday, with Clubs able to further increase their squad size via additional signings and trades.

Download the Big Bash App to stay up to date with the latest WBBL news and player signings. 

This includes the signing of one Overseas Player to a multi-year contract. This mechanism, introduced to both Big Bash Leagues for this season, will attract and retain top global talent.

This Overseas Player may be signed at any of the Overseas Player Draft salary bands, or at a price negotiated above Platinum. The contract can run for up to three years, and the player must guarantee full availability, including Finals, in their second and third year.

An Overseas Player signed to a multi-year contract will not enter the Draft player pool. Nominations for the Draft will open soon.

A Weber WBBL Club’s primary squad must consist of 15 players by the commencement of the season. This includes a minimum of two Overseas Players selected via the Draft, not including a pre-signed player on a multi-year contract.

The full Weber WBBL|10 schedule will be announced soon.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager, Big Bash Leagues, said:

“The Weber WBBL is the world’s leading cricket league for women and this week we have laid the platform for future growth as we enter our milestone tenth season.

“The certainty of a 43-game season has allowed us to lift the contracting embargo and allow Clubs to build a squad to contend for the WBBL|10 title with confidence.”

Weber WBBL|10 squads

Current club lists for Weber WBBL|10, as at 3 May 2024.

Adelaide Strikers: Jemma Barsby, Darcie Brown, Katie Mack, Tahlia McGrath, Bridget Patterson, Madeline Penna, Megan Schutt, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Brisbane Heat: Laura Harris, Ellie Johnston, Jess Jonassen, Charli Knott, Georgia Redmayne

Hobart Hurricanes: Heather Graham, Amy Smith, Molly Strano, Rachel Trenaman

Melbourne Renegades: Josie Dooley, Ella Hayward, Sophie Molineux, Georgia Wareham, Courtney Webb

Melbourne Stars: Sophie Day, Nicole Faltum, Kim Garth, Meg Lanning, Annabel Sutherland

Perth Scorchers: Chloe Ainsworth, Stella Campbell, Piepa Cleary, Maddy Darke, Alana King, Lilly Mills, Chloe Piparo

Sydney Sixers: Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Kate Pelle, Ellyse Perry, Kate Peterson

Sydney Thunder: Samantha Bates, Hannah Darlington, Saskia Horley, Anika Learoyd, Claire Moore, Tahlia Wilson