BBL|07 fixtures confirmed

More games, more venues - the new season of the Big Bash League promises to be bigger and better than ever

View Fixture | Sync to Calendar

The biggest-ever KFC BBL season will feature 43 games in 47 days as Cricket Australia today announced a bumper fixture for the seventh edition of the Twenty20 competition.

BBL|07 features eight additional regular season matches compared with last summer as the action heads to new venues around the country.

Hobart Hurricanes have already announced that they'll be taking their fifth home game to UTAS Stadium in Launceston, while three clubs will announce details around the venues for their additional games in due course.

The season will begin with a bang on 19 December when the Sydney Thunder host the Sydney Sixers in a Sydney Smash blockbuster at Spotless Stadium, while the final is locked in for 4 February.

Watch all of Lynn's record-breaking sixes

"We're very excited to be able to announce the BBL and WBBL schedules for the upcoming season, and we expect this to the biggest yet thanks to the increased number of matches and the growing popularity of both competitions," said Cricket Australia Executive General Manager of Events and Leagues, Anthony Everard.

"We know the MOU is still being finalised, but we are confident this won't affect the upcoming BBL and WBBL season, and we're looking forward to welcoming a huge number of travelling fans who are coming out for the Ashes. This will help them plan their ultimate summer in Australia.

"Both the BBL and WBBL are firm family favourites during the summer school holidays, and with even more matches we hope fans will continue to vote with their feet, support their club, and help us surpass last year's attendance, which exceeded 1 million for the second consecutive season."

Johnson's triple-strike stuns Stars

The popular New Year's Eve clash will return to the Adelaide Oval, while the Melbourne Derby at the MCG will take place on Saturday 6 January before the return bout six days later at Etihad Stadium.

Every BBL match will again be broadcast live and free on Network Ten and the Macquarie Radio Network, while fans will be able to stream all the action on and the CA Live app via a Live Pass subscription.

"We are proud to be working with Cricket Australia on the future development of this competition, by broadcasting matches in new venues this summer," said Network Ten Chief Executive Officer, Paul Anderson.

"Together, Ten and Cricket Australia have built the Big Bash into the most anticipated sporting competition of the summer.

"This year looks particularly exciting, with eight extra matches taking us through until the first week of February. We can't wait for the summer of cricket on Ten."

In a further boost for fans, entry-level tickets remain unchanged for the seventh straight season with prices starting at $20 for adults, $5 for kids, and $42.50 for families.

Tickets will go on sale to the general public on 16 October.

Fixtures infographic
click to expand

Club-by-club highlights

Adelaide Strikers

The highlight of the fixture for the Strikers is undoubtedly the NYE blockbuster against Brisbane Heat. While strong crowds will again be expected for the four matches at the Adelaide Oval this season, the Strikers are also still to announce the venue for their additional home game against the Scorchers on 13 January.

Brisbane Heat

After selling out every home game during the BBL|06 regular season, Heat fans will this year be able enjoy an additional match at the Brisbane venue starting with a match-up against Kevin Pietersen and the Melbourne Stars on 20 December.

Hobart Hurricanes

The Hurricanes open their season at Blundstone Arena on 21 December before heading north for their additional home contest when they take on Sydney Thunder in Launceston on 30 December.

Melbourne Renegades

The Renegades are still to announce a venue for their fifth home game against the Sixers on 3 January, while Melbourne Derbies on 6 January (away) and 12 January (home) will again attract plenty of fans.

Melbourne Stars

The Stars will be out to avenge last year's semi-final defeat when they return to #TheFurnace to take on the Scorchers on Boxing Day. Team Green will this year host five matches at the mighty MCG, including the Melbourne Derby that has quickly become a must-attend fixture on the Aussie sporting calendar.

KP reels in 'one of the great catches'

Perth Scorchers

Justin Langer's men begin their title defence with a final rematch against Sydney Sixers at the SCG on 23 December. Following another season of sold-out matches at #TheFurnace in BBL|06, Scorchers fans will be treated to an additional game at the Perth venue this summer.

Sydney Sixers

The final rematch against the Scorchers on 23 December marks the first of five matches at the iconic SCG for the Sixers in BBL|07. With the season opener against cross-town rivals the Thunder to be held at Spotless Stadium, the Sixers will host the second Sydney Smash of the season on 13 January.

Sydney Thunder

The Thunder open the season with the Sydney Smash on 19 December, while Spotless Stadium will also play host to the first BBL contest of 2018 when the Hurricanes visit on New Year's Day.