Women's Ashes Test

Perry named ICC Cricketer of the Year

Ellyse Perry recieves the inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for Women's Cricketer of the Year, with Beth Mooney taking out two awards

Laura Jolly

21 December 2017, 04:14 PM AEST

Australia allrounder Ellyse Perry has capped a stunning year with bat and ball by winning the inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award as the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year.

Southern Stars opener Beth Mooney was also rewarded for her exploits with the bat, taking out both the ICC Women's T20I and Emerging Player awards.

Perry created headlines around the world when she scored a double-century – her first ton in any international format – during the first Ashes Day-Night Test at North Sydney Oval last month, plundering an undefeated 213.

The 27-year-old took three wickets in the same match, while her incredibly consistent run with the bat continued in the ODI arena with Perry accumulating 905 runs and taking 22 wickets in 19 matches across the voting period that included games played since September 21, 2016.

Perry's performances helped Australia claim ODI series wins over South Africa, New Zealand and England during that period, also helped the Southern Stars retain the Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes against England last month.

The Cricketer of the Year award was first presented in 2006, but was split into separate awards for ODIs and T20s from 2012.

Perry powers her way to double ton

This year, those two categories have been retained, with the new overall award reintroduced and named in honour of the late Heyhoe Flint, who passed away earlier this year.

Perry finished first in the voting ahead of New Zealand's Amy Satterthwaite and India's Harmanpreet Kaur.

She's the third Australian woman to take out the honour behind Karen Rolton (2006) and Shelley Nitschke (2010).

Perry continues excellent Coffs record

As the women's game continues to reach greater heights with more people than ever playing, attending and watching, Perry said she was honoured to receive the award.

“This year has been a very special year for women’s cricket with many milestones reached, so it is a privilege and honour to receive the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award," Perry said in a statement.

"I’d like to acknowledge the incredible work and legacy Rachael has left behind for the game, she is certainly missed.

“A special thanks to Cricket Australia for the incredible amount of support they provide to the Australian Women’s Cricket Team and the way in which they continue to lead the development of women’s sport in Australia.

“Also, my teammates and our support staff, thanks so much for making it so enjoyable and memorable to tour and represent Australia."

Perry plucks reflex catch to remove Taylor

Mooney, 23, scored her maiden T20I century during the Women's Ashes last month, capping off a successful year in the 20-over format that started when she claimed the Rebel WBBL Player of the Tournament award in January.

The Queenslander scored 255 runs in seven T20Is during the voting period at the impressive strike rate of 138.5, including knocks of 86 and 117no during the Ashes.

She also made a strong contribution in ODIs, scoring 492 runs in 14 games including one century and four fifties.

“This is very unexpected and I’m honoured to receive the ICC T20I and Emerging Player of the Year awards," Mooney said.

"The Rebel Women’s Big Bash League has been highly successful for Cricket Australia and personally I benefitted from the exposure and opportunity as a player with the Brisbane Heat."

Magnificient Mooney blitzes T20 century

New Zealand's Satterthwaite, who captains the Renegades in the WBBL, received the ODI Player of the Year award after scoring 1183 runs at an average of 84.5, including four centuries and five half-centuries, while she also captured 20 wickets.

Cricket Australia Chief Executive James Sutherland congratulated the award winners. 

“This is an outstanding recognition for Ellyse. In her 10th season representing Australia, it comes as no surprise that someone with the qualities that Ellyse possesses has received the award in Rachael’s honour.

“Like Ellyse, Beth has also excelled at different times throughout the past 12 months, more recently during the Women’s Ashes, and is a deserved winner of her award.”

The ICC men's awards will be announced in January.

ICC Women's Awards

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Ellyse Perry (Australia)

ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year: Amy Satterthwaite (New Zealand)

ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year: Beth Mooney (Australia)

ICC Women’s Emerging Player of the Year: Beth Mooney (Australia)