ICC reprimands Nabi over run-out

Afghanistan offie admits run-out offence following Joyce run-out against Ireland

Afghanistan's Mohammad Nabi has received an official reprimand for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct following his role in the Ed Joyce run-out controversy on Sunday.

With Joyce at the crease in the fourth ODI between the two sides in Belfast, the left-hander pushed a cover drive toward the boundary and, having correctly thought Nabi had gone beyond the rope while retrieving the ball, stopped running mid-pitch.

Quick Single: Joyce in bizarre run-out drama

However, when Nabi returned the ball and the bails were removed, Afghanistan appealed for the Irishman's wicket.

The umpires conferred and then – lacking the luxury of television replays – asked Nabi if he had made contact with the ball while beyond the boundary.

Evidently, Nabi responded that he'd successfully prevented the four, and Joyce was sent on his way.

A photo later emerged showing the Afghan paceman was clearly touching the ball from beyond the rope, leading to a well-publicised controversy.

Quick Single: O'Keefe leads Australian rout

The 31-year-old was found to be in violation of Level 1 Article 2.1.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel which relates to "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game".

Nabi admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by ICC Match Referee David Jukes. As such, there was no need for a formal hearing.

The charge had been laid by the on-field umpires Alan Neill and C.Shamshuddin, as well as third umpire Royl Black.

Meg Lanning Steve Smith