Women's Ashes T20s

Stars name squad for T20 series

Up and coming quick Lauren Cheatle out for remainder of Women's Ashes with injury, three changes to squad

Cricket Network

14 November 2017, 12:15 PM AEST

Australia will be without the services of exciting teenage quick Lauren Cheatle for the remainder of the Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series due to injury.

Cheatle has been ruled out of the series with a back injury and was subsequently not considered for the 13-player squad for the T20 international series against England that was announced today.

The 19-year-old quick will await the results of scans undertaken yesterday before a return date is determined.

Speaking on the selection of the T20 squad, National Selector Shawn Flegler said the length of the tour was kept in mind. 

“It’s been a long tour for some of the younger players, so the selectors have opted to add some fresh legs to the side, all of which have previous experience at international level,” he said. 

"We have been really pleased with the way Tahlia has played in the series and as she continues to develop her T20 skills we think she will be an important member of the side.

“It’s great to see Delissa back in the side having last played for Australia in 2014, she’s a very handy bowler who will also add extra depth to the middle order.

“Molly was impressive with her off-spin bowling during Australia’s T20 series against New Zealand earlier this year, while Sarah will be hoping to make her T20 debut after being handed her one-day cap during the 50-over World Cup this year.

“All three have been strong performers in WBBL who we are confident can come into the side and get the job done against England in what is going to be three entertaining T20 matches.”

Perry powers her way to double ton

Australia made three changes from the Test squad that drew the historic day-night Ashes Test at North Sydney Oval, with opener Nicole Bolton, allrounder Tahlia McGrath and Cheatle replaced by fast bowler Sarah Aley, allrounder Delissa Kimmince and off-spinner Molly Strano.

Aley is the only uncapped T20I player in the squad but made her one-day international debut against Pakistan at the Women’s World Cup in July.

The 33-year-old was the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League’s highest wicket-taker last summer with 28 wickets for the champions Sydney Sixers, while Melbourne Renegades star Strano was second with 21 scalps and Jess Jonassen for the Brisbane Heat was in fourth with 18.

Six of the top seven leading run-scorers from WBBL|02 are in the squad – Beth Mooney, Alyssa Healy, Elyse Villani, Ashleigh Gardner, Alex Blackwell and Ellyse Perry – and it would have likely been seven had the top run-maker Meg Lanning not been ruled out of the summer with injury.

Having collected four points from their 2-1 ODI series win and two points from the drawn Test in Sydney last week, Australia need only one victory in the T20I series to earn the two points they need to retain the Women’s Ashes.

As current holders of the Women’s Ashes, Australia require eight points to keep the trophy, while England need to win the multi-format outright to reclaim the ultimate prize, which means winning all three T20Is.

England prepare for their difficult task with a match against the Governor-General’s XI on Wednesday night at Drummoyne Oval.

The first match of the T20I series takes place at North Sydney Oval on Friday night before the series moves south to Canberra for the final two matches at Manuka Oval on Sunday and the following Tuesday.

Australia squad: Sarah Aley, Alex Blackwell, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (c), Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Molly Strano, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes

Australia lead England 4-2

Australia T20 squad: Sarah Aley, Alex Blackwell, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (c), Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Molly Strano, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington.

England squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Jenny Gunn, Alex Hartley, Danielle Hazell, Laura Marsh, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Nat Sciver, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Danielle Wyatt.


First ODI Australia won by two wickets

Second ODI Australia won by 75 runs (DLS method)

Third ODI England won by 20 runs (DLS method)

Day-Night Test North Sydney Oval, November 9-12

First T20 North Sydney Oval, November 17

North Sydney Charity Partner: McGrath Foundation

Second T20 Manuka Oval, November 19

Third T20 Manuka Oval, November 21

Canberra Charity Partner: Lord's Taverners ACT