ICC U19 World Cup

State of the states: Queensland

Coloured clothes in fashion up north

Cricket Network

02 May 2014, 10:00 AM

Bupa Sheffield Shield

Following on from their runners-up finish in 2012/13, the XXXX Gold Queensland Bulls got off to a slow start this season, managing just the four points (four draws, one loss) from their first five matches; including a loss and a draw (no first innings points) to eventual champions the NSW Blues.

A win over the lowly Bushrangers gave Queensland momentum heading into the break and that carried over to the New Year, with a five-wicket win over South Australia in their first game of 2014 keeping the side’s final hopes alive.

Coming up short against Tasmania, the Bulls were left needing two outright wins from their last two fixtures. With everything to do, Queensland blew past the Warriors in the penultimate round but weren’t able to repeat the dose against Victoria, finishing the season with a hard-fought draw and a fourth place finish.

Leading run-scorer: Peter Forrest – 823 runs @ 68.58

Leading wicket-taker: James Hopes – 38 wickets @ 24.29

Bupa SS player of the year: Peter Forrest

Ian Healy Trophy Bulls Player of the Year: James Hopes

Sheffield Shield

Ryobi Cup

The form team for much of the tournament, Queensland went back to back in 2013, shrugging off the New South Wales home ground advantage to claim their 10th One Day domestic crown.

Big hitting from Ben Cutting, a breakout season from Usman Khawaja and 10 wickets from Michael Neser carried the Bulls all the way to the final, where they accounted for a rampaging Blues side with five balls to spare.

Leading run-scorer: Usman Khawaja – 426 runs @ 71.00

Leading wicket-taker: Michael Neser – 10 wickets @ 27.4

Ryobi Cup player of the year: Usman Khawaja


BBL 03

Cameron Gannon led all BBL wicket-takers in 2013/14, snaring 18 wickets at an average of less than 12 – with best bowling of 4-10. Daniel Vettori was also miserly with the ball, going for just over six an over and picking up 7 wickets.

Runs were the main concern for the Heat however, Chris Lynn the best of a battling bunch with 198 at 28.28.

Dan Christian showed why he’s repeatedly selected for international duties, smashing 186 runs at 46.5 at a good click in his six appearances.

Leading run-scorer: Chris Lynn – 198 runs @ 28.28 | SR: 144.52

Leading wicket-taker: Cam Gannon – 18 wickets @ 11.94 | Econ: 8.16

Brisbane Heat player of the year: Dan Vettori


Konica Minolta Queensland Fire

The Konica Minolta Queensland Fire broke one of state’s longest standing sporting droughts after claiming the Women’s T20 trophy.

The Fire defeated the ACT Meteors by seven wickets in the final, with Delissa Kimmince’s superb 78 not out from 52 balls earning her player of the match honours.

The all-rounder’s fine individual season was rewarded with the QLD Fire Player of the Year award, while she was also part of the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars squad that won the World Twenty20 alongside fellow Queenslanders Jess Jonassen and Holly Ferling.

Queensland Fire player of the year: Delissa Kimmince



Queensland Cricket’s young brigade of James Bazley, Ben McDermott and Billy Stanlake were all chosen in the Australian Under 19 side that made the semi finals of the recent World Cup.

The tournament continued a big couple of months for keeper / batsman McDermott who also made his BBL debut for the Heat after originally being chosen in the squad on a rookie contract.


Futures League

This season saw the Queensland Academy of Sport (QAS) take out the Futures League competition by six points, proving the depth of young talent in the state is strong.

Warwick fast bowler Mark Steketee was awarded the QAS Player of the Year, capping off a fantastic break out season in which he also made his Big Bash League debut for the Brisbane Heat.

Futures League

Imparja Cup

Queensland’s Imparja Cup side continued their record of good performances in the competition, making the semi finals to back up their championship result from the previous year.

Two QLD players made the Black Caps, the Imparja Cup All-Stars Team, being Preston White and Mark Thompson.

Imparja Cup

Grade Cricket

Valley District Cricket Club overcame Minor Premiers the University of Queensland in the final of the XXXX GOLD Premiership Competition to claim the Cam Battersby Cup.

The match was reduced from four to two days due to rain, the Valley’s Queensland Bulls contingent of Usman Khawaja (124 runs) and Luke Feldman (6 wickets for 61 runs) helping the Ashgrove based side to their first premiership in 19 years.

The victory capped off a memorable season for the Blue Bloods who also won the Kookaburra Twenty20 competition after defeating Gold Coast in the final.

Uni didn’t finish the season empty handed however, with the Blues claiming the First Grade one-day title and Damien Mullins Cup for best overall club.

Gold Coast’s Andrew Robinson finished the season as leading run scorer with 859, while UQ’s Scott Walter topped the wicket-takers list with 34.

Grade Cricket

Indoor Cricket

Queensland continued to dominate the domestic indoor cricket scene, with the QLD Thunder (men’s) and Lighting (women’s) taking out the Australian Open Titles.

Of the 15 division s contested at the National Titles, QLD teams played in 14 of them, with 11 coming away as winners.

The state was rewarded with several players making the Australian men and women’s Indoor teams, with Lyle Teske and Jude Coleman both named as captains.

Queensland’s Australian representatives included Teske (c), Robert Fitzgerald, Rhys Dearness, Andrew Roiko and Andy Byrne (men’s); and Coleman (c), Wendy Kemp, and Ashley Doble (women’s).